We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place although some more background would have been fine”

U.S. Space and Rocket Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.00*
and up
US Space and Rocket Center Admission
Ranked #1 of 69 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Home to Space Camp, Aviation Challenge and NASA's Official Visitor Information Center for Marshall Space Flight Center; The U.S. Space & Rocket Center is recognized as one of the most comprehensive U.S. manned space flight hardware museums in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful place although some more background would have been fine”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

It is a great place to visit if you (or your children) have interest in space exploration. Informative, large, interactive. The whole day can be spent here with pleasure.
The only two things I didn't like are: some attractions are very well exposed yet reserved for space camps and alike (causing some of the ordinary visitors, children specially, to fuss about it) and to little historical background connected to Werner von Braun who was designer of V1 and V2 during the WW II and using the workforce from concentration camps but it is hard to find this information

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena7301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USSRC, Public Relations Manager at U.S. Space and Rocket Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time out to tell us about your experience at the Rocket Center. We are constantly working on ways to ensure every guest has an exceptional visit. Thank you for leaving us feedback on how we can improve on certain areas. Hopefully, if you visit us again, you will have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,374
    604
    212
    54
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent half a day here and could have easily stayed longer given the exhibits and activities available. We did the museum and two IMAX shows, Hubble and the Hidden Universe. It was great. Just seeing Hubble's beautiful pics on that screen was awe inspiring. Surprisingly the boys had a blast at the GPS exhibit getting a taste of geocaching.

I have no doubt Space Camp will be on their bucket list as they were drooling over the robotics lab and were mesmerized by the preteens running space station exercise.

What a great place to spend the day.

Helpful?
Thank edge8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USSRC, Public Relations Manager at U.S. Space and Rocket Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are so happy that you all enjoyed your recent visit to our center. We are constantly working on new exhibits, simulators, and features to ensure every guest has an exceptional visit. We are really glad to hear that the boys enjoyed our new GPS Adventures exhibit! Thank you for taking the time out to give us feedback on your experience. We hope to see you all come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pales in comparison”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Not really a fan. Place seemed a little run down and run by graduates of Space Camp and not necessarily well versed. Unfortunately I am comparing this to the Space Center in Florida which was amazing. Seemed more geared toward children. Took the bus tour which turned out to be the highlight of the day and that was just okay. Toured numerous sites driving by or in proximity to (hey look to your left, gee to bad we already went past it) and some things on the way seemed to be time fillers. The actual stops were interesting, best part for me was stopping and seeing them in actual communication with the shuttle. A fellow tourer actually gave people web site information to track the shuttle. Opportunities missed by the tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chief7400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointing”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The sights were interesting and very educational. Enjoyed learning the history of rockets, shuttles, missiles. However disappointed in the customer service for the amount of money spent. Maps were small and black & white. The movie was cancelled that we scheduled our day around. Even in the food court order something from menu and they don't have it. Not a good value in my opinion.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome! Could Use some TLC”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The history preserved for future generations is priceless. I did see definite signs of of budget cuts, the grounds were not perfect and there are signs of neglect. The seats in the IMAX theater are almost falling apart, the area in front of the rock climbing is coming apart as well.

My husband and kids had a wonderful time and what I've mentioned did not diminish our enjoyment of the day. It's just sad to see such a nice place so run down.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USSRC, Public Relations Manager at U.S. Space and Rocket Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to tell us about your experience at our center. We are constantly working on ways to ensure every guest has an exceptional visit. Thank you for leaving us feedback on how we can improve for next time. Glad to hear that you all had a good time, we hope that you all visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Space and Rocket Center also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Space and Rocket Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing