We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Southern Food All In One Place”
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
Ranked #9 of 598 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
244 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Comfort Southern Food All In One Place”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Blue Plate Cafe is amazing! Lively, kind, and delicious food! 4 or 5 specials of the day, and that's about all you can order! Everything was amazing, and I cleaned my plate. Can't wait to go back and enjoy their other specials! Amazing southern food. Just go and try it yourself!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkPanda1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    94
    34
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A place to enjoy an unhurried meal”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Downtown Huntsville has only a few good places for breakfast or lunch. Most restaurant are the big chains, but I was totally please with the Blue Plate Café. The service is quick and caring. The food is good and wholesome, while the prices are in line with normal expectations. But the sweet tea is what really made this pleasurable dining. The tea a southern staple not too sweet but sweet enough to be cool and relaxing on a hot muggy day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We eat here a good bit”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We're locals and have been eating here for years. All the food is true southern food and it's delicious. My favorites are chicken & dressing, dumplings, hash brown casserole, squash (only on certain days), strawberry shortcake (Monday only). Those are my favs but I've never had a bad meal here. Breakfast is great too. This is where the locals eat for those out-of-town folks reading this. You will feel like you've won the lottery if you get a parking spot between 11:30 and 1:30 Monday through Friday, so get here early. I've never had to wait over 30 min for a table. Service is always excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate here this morning for breakfast. The food was great and cooked to our liking. Eggs, omelets, gravy, bacon...it was all very good. I want to go back and try their pancakes and french toast, too. The waitress was very sweet and did a wonderful job.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently visited the Blue Plate Cafe for breakfast and it was a great experience. The food was good Southern cooking, the sweet tea was great, and the employees were very friendly and attentive. The prices are good and your drinks are never empty. Definitely recommend!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katwater86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing