We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lot”
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
Ranked #7 of 611 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a lot”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

You get A LOT of food for your money here. They do have weird hours and they stop serveing breakfast at 1030 but other than that I had always been happy

Helpful?
1 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    100
    35
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bland Food”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Bland food, long wait, not worth it. It's always packed and, to me, it's not food worth fighting for. I'd rather make something at home.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank KCBandBAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is a family owned cafe with a limited daily menu. For about $10, you can have your choice of entree, three sides & soft drink. It is a filling meal for about anyone.

The food is good enough, but lacks the "dash of love" that I look for in this type of restaurant. It just doesn't taste like someone's grandma is back there running the kitchen, and that's a shame. Even still, "could be better" does not equal bad food... just not outstanding. Also, it's a bargain!

This place gets very busy around lunch, so make sure you have some time. Due to the limited daily menu however, food comes fairly quickly.

One thing I will say is that servers are plentiful and attentive. There is no lack of help here, I assure you! I sometimes wonder how they keep from running all over each other when it get's busy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank smmarkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets for breakfast!”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My wife and I ate at a wonderful cafe today that I can recommend to anyone. First, there was a waiting list (which, in my book signals good food) and people were coming out at a fairly good pace (quick service). They have a reputation as being an excellent "Meat & Three", but I can, personally, vouch only for breakfast. Our waitress was very cordial and the food came out in just a few minutes. The coffee warm-ups were offered frequently. It has a very clean, 50's decor that puts you right at ease. You won't go wrong here.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmflydelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheesy Hash Browns to DIE for!”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We ate breakfast here on a Saturday morning. I had an amazing omelet with cheesy browns and toast. My daughter had pancakes, eggs and cheesy browns, while my husband had eggs, country ham and biscuits. We all shared a chocolate biscuit. While everything was delicious, the cheesy browns alone are worth the trip. Best cheesy hash browns I have ever had, bar none. My omelet was fantastic. The chocolate biscuit (really a biscuit with chocolate sauce over it) was a revelation. The chocolate sauce combined with the salty buttery flavor of the biscuit was WOW! Service was outstanding. Can't imagine there's a better breakfast to be had in Hunstville.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank posterchildTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing