We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok, but not the best”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for three nights this week. The hotel is very clean and the bed pretty comfortable. The workout room was very good. Their treadmills are top of the line. We ate breakfast in their restaurant, and it was ok, but nothing special. The morning I was there alone, I was never attended by the waitress other than when I was getting my cereal, she asked if I was going to order anything. The hotel staff was polite, but didn't want to go out of their way for any little requests. There was a small mistake on our bill, and the manager fixed it on our way out even though my husband had asked about it earlier in the day. The manager wasn't in yet, and the front desk clerks said they didn't have the authority to fix it. Seems they should have that authority if a manger isn't going to be onsite. We asked for a late checkout of 1 p.m. and were told 1245 was the latest they allowed for late checkouts. The Internet worked for some sites, but not all would download completely. We work when we get back to the hotel, so will not stay here again for that reason. They didn't offer the govt rate for per diem. The staff was nice, but again, seemed they didn't want to be bothered. Not the usual Hilton property attitude...esp for Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are shocked and dismayed to learn of your experience. This is certainly not representative of the level of service we strive to extend to our guests. I always utilize feedback like yours for staff training purposes. Please know your comments are taken very seriously and will be acted upon immediately. Thank you for the distinct service you have provided us by sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    80
    31
    20
    9
See reviews for
76
36
18
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We are Hilton Honors members and it's been a couple of years since we stayed at this property, only because last time we were there, we were not impressed. We thought we'd try again and had similar problems. We called about 6pm since we were going out to dinner to let them know we would be a little late and to make sure we would still have our room which we booked a month ago. We were told that it was no problem and they had our room ready. Well, when we arrived, we were sent up to our room on the 5th floor. We heard the TV very loud coming from "our" room. So we called to the desk who said no one should be in the room and maybe housekeeping left the TV on. Since we did not want to open the door they came up and opened it and yes, someone was already in the room witht their bags and the water running. We were told that they had no other rooms that had two doubles available so we were next sent to a King Accessible room and they would bring in a rollaway for our daughter. Unfortunately, that room smelled of smoke and had several ladybugs climbing on the curtains (which freaked out our daughter). After calling some of the other hotels to try to find us a room, they actually found a room in their hotel that still had two doubles available? I know the front desk person tried her best but there wasn't much she could do since the information in the system was incorrect. We hoped it would get better, but the breakfast the next morning was well understaffed -- they ran out of plates, juice and several other items on the buffet and there were 18 orders backed up for eggs. I know there was a large group in for a gymnastics event but the staff did their best but they were completely overwhelmed. This is pretty much exactly the same experience we had two years ago when we stayed here (although our travel friends were the ones who got the room someone else was staying in). I think we've all decided we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are Hilton Honors members and it's been a couple of years since we stayed at this property, only because last time we were there, we were not impressed. We thought we'd try again and had similar problems. We called about 6pm since we were going out to dinner to let them know we would be a little late and to make sure we would still have our room which we booked a month ago. We were told that it was no problem and they had our room ready. Well, when we arrived, we were sent up to our room on the 5th floor. We heard the TV very loud coming from "our" room. So we called to the desk who said no one should be in the room and maybe housekeeping left the TV on. Since we did not want to open the door they came up and opened it and yes, someone was already in the room witht their bags and the water running. We were told that they had no other rooms that had two doubles available so we were next sent to a King Accessible room and they would bring in a rollaway for our daughter. Unfortunately, that room smelled of smoke and had several ladybugs climbing on the curtains (which freaked out our daughter). After calling some of the other hotels to try to find us a room, they actually found a room in their hotel that still had two doubles available? I know the front desk person tried her best but there wasn't much she could do since the information in the system was incorrect. We hoped it would get better, but the breakfast the next morning was well understaffed -- they ran out of plates, juice and several other items on the buffet and there were 18 orders backed up for eggs. I know there was a large group in for a gymnastics event but the staff did their best but they were completely overwhelmed. This is pretty much exactly the same experience we had two years ago when we stayed here (although our travel friends were the ones who got the room someone else was staying in). I think we've all decided we will not be staying here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Georgia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

First room had broken heater. Staff immediately changed our room! Great service. We went back to desk and the lady on duty said she wished we had just called and she would have brought us a key to a new room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
It is good to hear you think the service here at the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South is great! Thank you for your great review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stay here a lot and enjoy it. This time we requested a late (2PM) checkout, and was told noon was the latest time for late checkout. We are usually able to have a late 2PM checkout, but not this time. No explanation, just coldly said 12 noon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billycarl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, it is through such candid feedback that we’re able to improve our product and services. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for a cold attitude on the part of any of our employees. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here on business a number of times while working on a long Huntsville project. It is off the main highways which I think is a good thing as you don't hear trucks all night like other hotels in this town. It is very quiet but within minutes of downtown. The staff always remembered me and was very helpful. Special requests were always met with a smile and an attitude of 'what else can I do for you?' Hotel is still pretty new and extremely clean which I would not claim for many of the older ones on the highway. Breakfast is hot with omlettes made to order. I usually eat dinner out, but a couple times I ate at the hotel and it was simple but good.

Room Tip: I always ask for an upgrade if available. Many times I am surprised that they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestbluedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
 Our associates here at the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South pride themselves on providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to hear they exceeded your expectations! Your review will certainly be shared with them. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Single overnight on business. My GPS didn't have it in its database, so I wound up at the other Hilton Garden Inn. Not a deal killer though. I'm finding that since I've earned diamond status, no one really cares anymore. When i was silver and gold, I was always welcomed and thanked. Since achieving diamond, it's pretty much just been ignored. This has been at all Hilton properties though; not just this location. Check in was quick, however the room was teh farthest away onthe second floor. Hotel wasn't full, and I never heard another noise the entire night. bed was comfy, and the room clean. The bathroom vanity sported some towel art, which I thought looked too nice to move. Nice touch. Breakfast was good; although not many options for those of us that cannot consume gluten. Yogurt selection was extremely slim. Overall, not bad though.

Only complaint was the shower doors that would not stay on the track. After several attempts of re-setting themin the track, I resorted to jsut lifting them and setting into place! I mentioned it to the front desk as I was leaving, and the clerk didn't really know how to respond! Hopefully it got fixed before the next guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSGAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We at the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Towel art and how quiet your room was during your stay with us. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here on business. The hotel staff was a little cold, but not impolite. The room was excellent. Very comfortable beds and very nice room in general. The WiFi was also extremely reliable and free to use. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenHol32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
 We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the WiFi during your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntsville - Arsensal/South Parkway
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South
Address: 301 Boulevard South SW, Huntsville, AL 35802-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#8 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South Hotel Huntsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing