We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grille 29

Grille 29
Reserve with OpenTable
Grille 29 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 565 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 72
Description: Grille 29 is Huntsville hottest new concept in upscale-casual dining. Located in the heart of Providence Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass . The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We enjoyed a quiet dinner at Grille 29 in August of this year. Quiet, dimly lit interior, diverse small menu. We enjoyed everything from the appetizer to the meal to dessert to our cocktails. Very nice date night experience. Would highly recommend and plan to return!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NikkiMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    85
    31
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Service; Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The appetizers, salads, and side items are outstanding in flavor and presentation. I've tried the New York Strip as well as the Ribeye. The temperature was perfect to order. However, the flavor of the beef was lacking both times. The steaks are good but not commensurate with the price. I'd rather spend the extra at Ruth's Chris or James Steakhouse to get a great steak than to pay a high price here for a good steak. Great atmosphere. Excellent service all three times I've been. I will likely return again but explore other areas of the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OHWanderingProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh food perfectly cooked augmented by top-notch service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Grille 29 offers a menu with a variety of serving sizes, all fresh food perfectly cooked. Everything we ordered, from delicate fish to "Pittsburg-style" steak was served as ordered. The service is impressively attentive with attention to detail. Our red and white wines were served in appropriately different glasses. The wine list includes good but affordable wines.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kreykenbohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
378 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“good seafood and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went here and realized upon arrival that many business teams were having their holiday dinners here but not a problem. We had a very nice table and great service. The salad 29 was very tasty- spinach, candied pecans, apple pieces and a nice light balsamic dressing. The stuffed grouper was excellent. I definitely would go back if in the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loves2TravelALOT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad atmosphere, but quite expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I visited here about a month ago with my partner. It was our official first date so we were looking for somewhere romantic and have heard of Grille 29. The location is beautiful. Providence is its own little treasure of Huntsville. We came there on a warm night and there were horse & carriage rides going on right outside of the restaurant. I made a request to sit next to the fish tank. We were actually seated a couple tables away, but it didn't matter that much. The tables are too close to have an intimate moment, in my opinion. The food was phenomenal! Which is probably the reason why it was sooo expensive. For our two appetizers, bottle of mildly priced champagne, and two entree's it easily $145, with tip ran us $171. The cheese fondue was not that great, but the lobster quesodillas were amazing! The waitress was really on the ball, filling our champagne glasses every time they got low and even replaced the candle when it went out. All in all, the food was great, the service was exceptional, the atmosphere was a little too close for comfort, and the price was just a tad pricey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seekingexcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grille 29 also viewed

 

Been to Grille 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing