We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Hummus and Veggie Burgers!”
Review of Purple Onion

Purple Onion
Ranked #102 of 161 Restaurants in Hoover
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy Hummus and Veggie Burgers!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is one of my favorite places for Mediterranean food. The prices are reasonable and the food is excellent. Try the hummus, for sure, and the onion rings are to die for!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanWritesPrecise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoover
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“When I want ethnic it's fine---only Pelham-and Hoover--Avoid Greensprings”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Like it well enough I been to all 3--2 more than once--will never return to Greensprings Store.

What to review? Tried most things all good enough when I want something easy and different

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank foodmarc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“its a good restaraunt to go to to relax”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

i loved the food its clean and every body therewas friendly

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kenya j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetumpka, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Normally OK”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

My wife and I took a motorcycle trip to the State Park to hike not far from this place. We had first eaten at a Purple Onion out near the Summit Mall a few weeks ago. We like the menu and she loves the mint tea.

This one is in an old fast food restaurant, and it is a little bit dingy. Food was ok. However, there was an employee sitting at a prep table in the kitchen eating her food. In Alabama, this is a critical health code violation. I'm sure that the management and staff all know that it is not allowed, so I did not address it. I just won't eat at this one again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COBB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I love that they have a...”
Reviewed March 7, 2008

I love that they have a drive thru!

Helpful?
Thank musicbecca2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Purple Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing