We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peachy but not Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Birmingham Hoover
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hoover
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peachy but not Perfect”
Reviewed April 1, 2008

I recently stayed here for work and found the property to be very well located as others have mentioned. The staff was fine, the rooms were clean and nice, but nothing really worth gushing over. The hotel itself is strangely laid out, for example: the "wing" our rooms were located could not access the lobby. It was just a long hall of rooms. You would have to know back stair-wells to go up and then navigate some halls and then back down in order to get to anything else "hotel-ish".

The main issue I wanted to mention for others' benefit was the breakfast. Go elsewhere. The breakfast was approximately $12 for the buffet and the only thing we found worth eating was the pre-packaged food (ie: cereal, chocolate milk, breakfast bars). The hot foods on the buffet weren't hot, nor good and the wait staff was nothing to write home about. Cold coffee, slow service, etc.

In conclusion: I would stay at this hotel again due to the cleanliness and nice size of rooms, as well as the very good location and with the expectations to merely come and go and not utilize the hotel for any other functions.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pandash99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    66
    36
    25
    10
See reviews for
47
29
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Typical Courtyard, front desk staff was curteous and quick ,rooms were clean however bathroom(tub area) is a bit worn. Very good location, lots of choices for restaurants, Jim & Nicks Barbeque located next door.
Nice big hottub, workout room was average at best, breakfast was OK..

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank CDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Located close to Galleria Mall and I65 Highway.

Out of Hoover, but convenient for where i wanted to be.
Standard cookie-cutter Courtyard hotel, which I like. I never expect to visit these places for their ambience, but they do what I want, what i expect from a modern value hotel chain , and do it well.

Standard Courtyard breakfast, not massive choice if there for a long stay, but good enough.

Nothing spectacular, but good value, clean and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

The Courtyard in Hoover is located next to The Galleria Shopping Mall and Patton Creek Shopping Area. Being close to these shopping meccas, I-65 and I-459 makes for a lot of restaurants and other shopping venues in the area. Unfortunately, it also makes for a lot of traffic.

The lobby and rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. The linens and mattresses are of good quality. Large bathrooms and great showers were also positives.

Our only negatives were with a rather apathetic staff, lukewarm breakfast buffet and some worn carpet in the 1st floor hallway.

  • Liked — Mattress & Linens
  • Disliked — Traffic
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jcdato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

Standard Courtyard. Rooms seem to be high traffic and well used. The room was clean. Staff was good- but breakfast staff was slow and the price of 9.95 for Birmingham was a little high. Location is close to everything including the highway and a wide variety of food and the Galleria mall.

Gripes- you can hear traffic easily, no setting that permits the fan on the AC unit to run continuously- constantly on and off again. Very thin walls! Building was not full, but staff had all rooms sold adjacent to each other rather than space them out for quiet sake. Bed OK.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank habersack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

The location is good for restaurants and shopping but the front desk staff is rude. Breakfast was decent but a little pricey, the hospitality staff in the restaurant were very nice. The front desk staff were not helpful. Had problems getting towels brought to the pool, waited over an hour for a towel to be brought but it never arrived. Went to the front desk and was told we shouldn't be standing there wet, that we were getting their floor wet. Oh well. Expected better service from a Courtyard.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rude Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellzbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2006

Easy to get to off I-65 and Montgomery Hwy. Right next door to Jim N Nick's BBQ - excellent. Always stay here when I go to Montgomery via Birmingham. Rooms are average Courtyard - not above average. Beds are ok but the comforter is not big anf fluffy. Onsite spa and workout room is nice. Food istandard Courtyard. Coffee is a Maxwell House machine and is pretty good. Rate was around $159 or so. Rooms by the elevator are not sound-=proof so be advised.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoover
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Hoover-Galleria
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham-SW-Riverchase-Galleria
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hoover/Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Birmingham Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Birmingham Hoover

Property: Courtyard Birmingham Hoover
Address: 1824 Montgomery Hwy, Hoover, AL 35244-1208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Hoover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hoover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Birmingham Hoover 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Birmingham Hoover is proud to share our newly renovated state-of-the-art lobby and stylish new guest rooms. This Hoover hotel is just 11 miles from Birmingham's city center and located near the areas’ best shopping, dining and golf courses. The exciting new features at this Hoover, AL hotel include inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Internet access throughout, access to the latest news via our GoBoard and The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.® offering enhanced breakfast, dinner and beverage options. Relax by our outdoor pool. Whether in town for business or fun, we offer exactly what you need for a relaxing and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Birmingham Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Birmingham Hoover Hotel Hoover
Courtyard Hoover
Hoover Marriott
Hoover Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing