We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mall”

Riverchase Galleria
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Hoover
Certificate of Excellence
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Mall”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lots of choices and wonderful shopping experience. Large and indoors so you can shop as long as you like.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    71
    40
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Taking Pictures at Riverchase Galleria”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had a similar experience as another review---the carousel has been gone since March or April of 2013. My grandson, who is 3 1/2, can't wait to ride it again. I saw a sign posted saying it would be back on August 9th. I was happy it was returned and was trying to take a picture of the carousel when a man, inside the fence, where the carousel was, started yelling at me. He was so far away from me I did not even realize he was yelling/talking to me. He said "you can't take pictures in the mall". He started pointing and I guess he was showing me the cameras up above somewhere. He then started walking away from me. I feel if you are not supposed to take pictures in the mall then they should have it posted somewhere. However, if a crime was being committed, wouldn't it be better to have a picture of it? Not sure I understand this "undocumented rule".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheresaM2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome place to shop!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place can cover pretty much all of your shopping needs. It has a really nice atmosphere and is very clean. There is a mall as well as tons of other places to shop. Nearby is tons of other places to shop as well as hotels and restaurants.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allybama25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A shell of what it once was”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I remember when the Riverchase Galleria first opened. It was always full and there were no vacancies. After having lived out of Alabama for many years, it is shocking to come back to the Galeria and find that it is truly a shell of what it once was.

It seems with the other high end malls opening around Birmingham the Galleria has really dropped in quality of stores. As their store quality has dropped, their clientele seems to have dropped as well.

The Galleria has many vacancies and has not been able to fill all of the anchor stores in many years. Hopefully some of the new improvements that are being made to the mall will attract new stores.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta Junction, Alaska
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant afternoon”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The mall is clean, has an upscale feel and most spaces are occupied. Belk's, Sears and JCPenney's are the flagship stores. The food court had some decent options. Teenagers and adults were both content with the offerings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverchase Galleria also viewed

 

Been to Riverchase Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing