We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Pleasant Surprise!”
Review of Creekside Tavern - CLOSED

Creekside Tavern
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

While passing through Alabama on the way to Florida, my daughter and I decided to stop just south of Birmingham after 9 hours of driving. We cruised the open mallway looking for a place to enjoy dinner when my sister and her family arrived about 2 hours behind us.
Upon first impressions, this was not our first choice, but we are so glad we collectively agreed on Creekside Tavern.
The service was excellent, the food was surprisingly fresh, hot and quickly delivered.
Happy Hour drink prices were fairly priced $5 per glass of wine.
I hope to return to this establishment when I visit a niece who lives in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioMomXX2XYXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
120 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise for a Casual Dinner”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We tried the Creekside Tavern last night and enjoyed our first visit. We had a drink in the bar and enjoyed the house wines for $5/ glass. They also have happy hour specials M-F and plenty of large, flat screen TVs to enjoy sports events.
We decided to move to a booth in the bar area to have dinner, and our very friendly bartender, Pete, became our server. My Cajun Tilapia dinner was reasonably priced and delicious. BUT, my wife's Mahi Mahi dinner was outstanding and even better!! Great new place in Hoover Alabama; we will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosierdaddy0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham -Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“O.K., but nothing special - might try again”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This new restaurant (opened in 2012) is at the Barnes & Noble end of Patton Creek shopping mall, off Alabama Highway 150. The property is easy to find and convenient. I ate at this property yesterday. I saw only 10 - 12 people at the restaurant, although it was 12:00 - 12:30. I tried 1 (one) white wine (LaCrema - $9.00) and 1 (one) red (Avalon Merlot - $7.00), and I was not impressed with either. I was impressed with the chips ($3.00); they were still warm and had flavor. The total bill was $25.00 (with tip). As stated in a review below, "Nothing original here. Not bad, but not great." The restaurant might have a theme (both as to the food and the property itself), but none that I could determine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrojanBill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food but very slow service”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The food was very good nice sice portions and enough variety for our large group.
The service , however, was slow and our server seemed to be constantly harrased. The food did not all arrive at the same time our daughter had to wait at least 10mins after we all had ours.

but we will at least give it a second try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's ok....”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The price is right, but I wasn't impressed. It wasn't anything special. Nothing original here. Not bad, but not great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameyeam689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing