We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food & Friendly Service”
Review of Jubilee Joe's

Jubilee Joe's
Ranked #5 of 160 Restaurants in Hoover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food & Friendly Service”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a great neighborhood restaurant where they know your name, know your favorite drink & know how long it's been since you last visited. If you stop by, ask for Warren and try the fried green tomatos appetizer - it is fried tomatoes, lump crab meat and homemade Dijon mustard… the crab claws are delightful also!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcakwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    35
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best seafood around”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We found this restaurant completely by accident, and now go there every chance we get, the food and service are excellent, we would and have recommended this restaurant to all our family and friends

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gjmbhend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JubileeJoes, Owner at Jubilee Joe's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much! We appreciate you coming in. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, AL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and good service!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My family loves Jubilee Joe's shrimp and grits. It is a wonderful appetizer! We also enjoy the shrimp, crab legs, and fried green tomatoes. We've been eating there for years and we've never been let down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JubileeJoes, Owner at Jubilee Joe's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much! We appreciate you being such a loyal customer! Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,Al
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs help with food and service”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Seafood was nothing more than a thin soup with a few shrimp, no okra or crab or oysters. Shrimp soup. Went to get the dungenese crab which was posted on their FB page. When I FINALLY got waited on, I was never told about the crab being featured or available. Po boy was mediocre at best. Slaw was way too sweet and heavy laden with mayo.
Servers were more interested in chatting with each other at the cash register than tending to their tables. Was very disappointed with the food and
service.






  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rhb4tsu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JubileeJoes, Owner at Jubilee Joe's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
I'm sorry you felt that way about our gumbo sir; we take pride in the quality and taste of all our food. We have shrimp, crab claws, and crab meat in our seafood gumbo, we do not have oysters in there. We cook our gumbo for 19 hours, so that is why you do not see okra in there. I'm sorry you had a bad experience. Hope you can give us another shot. We are strict about our service experience and I would greatly appreciate it if you could email me and let me know who your server was (admin@jubilee-joes.com). Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
233 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Large menu - unexpected gem”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I went to dinner with 2 friends and a 4 year for dinner on a week night. I was surprised at the size of the place once we entered, it did not look as large from the outside. The menu was pretty large and it was hard for me to narrow down my meal choice. Among all of us we had the marinated crab claws with 2 sides, the combination fried platter (shrimp & oysters) with cheddar mashed potatoes and chicken / sausage gumbo and the crazy steamer pot. It was a LOT of good and we definitely had to go boxes.
I woud like to go back again to try some different things on the menu as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twosassyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JubileeJoes, Owner at Jubilee Joe's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have added some more items to the menu. Come try them out. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jubilee Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing