We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip for bowl game”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hoover
Certificate of Excellence
Corinth, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family trip for bowl game”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My family of four stayed here for two nights, January 4th and 5th. I prefer staying in condos on extended trips but on short trips such as this, I still want at least a separate bedroom. This is what we had here and we were very pleased. One note of caution is that it can be noisy on the street side (our side) but it did not keep any of our 4 from sleeping soundly. Just might want to ask for a room on the other side. The staff at the front desk was so helpful, just wished I remembered their names to give them a shout out. The second night my wife and I sat in the lobby by the fireplace for over two hours visiting with a friend who had come to see us. My wife was using her smart phone to use the internet. She was having some problems and the night manager spent several minutes helping her. He even called the motel technical support and got my wife on the phone to talk to them. As far as our room, it was very comfortable. The bedroom seemed a little small but the king size bed was nice. Shower pressure was fine. This is a very nice place to stay and is a great bargain also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rghlmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    48
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
93
34
8
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Opp, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

As a whole, this hotel was better than the Hyatt down the street (which was the first hotel we had reservations for). Smelled clean, in a nice, lighted, safe location. The room was really crowded with furniture but was nicely stocked with anything one might need in the kitchen or such. On a general inspection, this place looked pretty good- wiped counters in the kitchen, granite end tables, and clean sheets. On closer inspection, the Furniture was a little worn and cracked, the sink area in the bath had literal boogers wiped on the wall, and the unplaced stopper in the tub made it possible for anyone to see the incredibly hair laden drain.... The next morning was the really priceless deal breaker. As I picked up my jewelry that I had laid on the end table the night before, I noticed some small whitish particles about the size of rice grains. I opened the curtains to let light in. I squinted down to see what had been beside my head all night and discovered that the whole granite table was covered in someone else's finger and toe nail trimmings! Bleech!!!!! That only meant that the housekeeping had neglected to even try to wipe off the table from previous guests. The entire table was covered!!!!!!! I was so upset!!! So lesson is- ok establishment but maybe check on the Embassy Suites or the new Hampton Inn down the street first ----- unless you enjoy toenails.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dixiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I am a real hotel snob. Cleanliness with no gross smells rank at the top of my list when looking for a hotel on the road. I also always try to locate the newer hotels along my route, and will often stay a little off the beaten path if it will give me what I want and need in a hotel.
I am a brand new pet owner and have always steered clear of staying at pet-friendly hotels for fear of pet odor, soiled carpets, etc. But this past weekend was my first experience travelling with my dog and needing a hotel. I had heard good things about the per-friendly Residence Inns. And I had a great experience with a Residence Inn 2 years ago in Baton Rouge.
Well, my stay this past weekend was a very positive one. The room was very clean, no evidence at all of a pet ever being in my room. Smelled fresh. The guy at the front desk was so accommodating and even came down to my room to reset the a/c unit with a "VIP code" to cool it way down for us. It stayed cool all night and with the rain coming in during the night, we all slept soundly. We crated our dog the entire time and she slept too. It was a great experience. The breakfast was good and I was impressed with the breakfast staff. They kept things replenished and very clean. I met Alyssa, the manager, at check-out and she was very professional and accommodating. We will definitely be staying at Residence Inn again and if we find ourselves back in Hoover, we will stay there again.
The only negative that would be great to correct is there was no DISNEY CHANNEL on the TV. This is the first time I have ever experienced this problem at a hotel. When travelling with children, The Disney Channel is a MUST. NO IFS ANDS OR BUTS ABOUT IT. Residence Inn, please see about adding the Disney Channel to your channel line-up. Y'all had HBO, but that doesn't entertain small kids. Thank you!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor. I liked this. Right next to lobby and breakfast and no waiting fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdgirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This property seemed to be very new and well appointed. We stayed in a studio suite and it was very nicely laid out. Kitchen had very nice countertops and stainless steel appliances. It was very functional. TV is on a swivel so you can see it from the small living area and the bed. Three issues we had and we did not really report, 1) closet doors were flimsy and kept coming off track, 2) noise from road in front of property was pretty loud, even from the 5th floor, I would ask for a room away from the road, 3) the chair next to the coach was very worn. I rarely give out 5 stars to any property but this one is as close as it could be to 5 stars in my mind!! Breakfast was excellent as was the nightly manager's reception, good cake!!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the ones facing John Hawkins Parkway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swf1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The decorations and trinkets on the shelf made it feel like a home. We stayed here while driving across the country to move, and enjoyed our stay so much we joked about staying a second night but decided to just get on with our 4 day drive. We would definitely stay here again. We love that they are pet friendly too!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have been staying in Birmingham-area hotels for several years due to having family there. Of all the hotels in which we have stayed, this is our favorite one. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The complimentary breakfasts are very good and the staff is very friendly and service oriented. It is also very convenient to I-459, I-65, US-31, the Galleria Mall and there is a Walmart across the street. In addition, a bank with ATM is adjacent to the hotel. There is a Chevron station nearby, as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooterguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark501
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We usually stay at a Hampton Inn, but with the addition of 2 kids and my mom, we needed a 2 bedroom suite. I was afraid I would not be able to afford it, but the price was under $200 and was as nice as a Hilton, as far as the suite is concerned. The Lobby is just as beautiful as an upscale hotel, but much much smaller. However, there was a business area with fireplace, sitting area with fireplace, breakfast room, outside fire pit and putting practice green. Very nice decor, with one exception: what looked like a used hospital chair among the beautiful furniture in the living area in the suite. It wasn't, used, but was trying to be shabby chic, but did not work. Other than that, beautiful. Nice full kitchen with granite counters and good lighting. I have stayed in some very nice hotels, and this was very nice, not as big as the 4 stars, but just as nice.
Advice to owners and staff: some scuffs in the hall and on the walls need to be cleaned and painted as it happens, or it could turn into a bad looking hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the end of the hall, it seems some sound can come up the elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoover
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Hoover-Galleria
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham-SW-Riverchase-Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover

Property: Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover
Address: 2725 John Hawkins Pkwy, Hoover, AL 35244-4004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Hoover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hoover
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoover
#4 Family Hotel in Hoover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover is an all-suite extended stay hotel in Hoover, AL offerirng an ideal location off I-459, fully equipped kitchens, and complimentary WiFi, a daily breakfast buffet, parking, and evening socials at Inn Mix (M-W) featuring food and drinks. Unwind after a busy day on the road in one of our spacious studio, one bedroom, or two bedroom suites. Be healthy and happy while on the road by swimming some laps in our outdoor pool or fitting in a work out in the 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover Hotel Hoover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing