We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive from campus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hoover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Needed to find a refundable, reasonable rate for Parents Weekend at Bama, and found this gem in Hoover. As we approached it, we found it was near the Birmingham Barons stadium, which we love to attend when in the area, so we've bookmarked this hotel for future stays during baseball season.

We were worried as we approached the hotel and found lots of little girls in the pool area for a volleyball tournament. As we knew we were going to have an exhausting weekend, we were worried about noise. Well, no worries. Very quiet hallways, and we didn't hear a peep out of them all night!

Rooms were very clean, huge, spacious, where we could just plop down and sleep at the end of two tiring days. Easy access to interstate to get to the university. A beautiful, scenic drive, and not as long as it seemed it would be!

As the Tuscaloosa area seems to have limited options for clean hotel rooms, this will be our go to place when the Fairfield Tuscaloosa is sold out, or even when we are not on a tight schedule and can have a relaxing visit in the area outside of campus and have time to take in a Barons game. Will research how close the Riverchase Galleria is to this hotel, as I love the Lego store in that mall, and will combine a shopping trip on my next visit to visit son at college!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montegut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 258 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

We selected the hotel because if it's convenience to all the major roads and it was close to our family's residence. The hotel was very clean and the room was nice because it had a separate area for sleeping and eating. The reservation was for a suite not 1 bedroom so it was expected. I was surprised to see a full refrigerator, dishwasher, 2 glass top burners, micro and convection (we think) combination. The place was fully stocked with all the dishes, pans etc. It was very nice to have that option. We did see the desk for free internet connection but we didn't bring our laptop with us. They do have a guest laptop in the lobby for use.
The breakfast buffet was very nice with a large selection of foods. Eggs, bacon, waffles, pancakes, oatmeal, various breads and pateries, regular cold cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit etc.
The staff is very friendly and they do go out of their way to see that you had everthing you need,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tango223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The rooms are clean, mattresses are new enough! The Breakfast has lots of options (the eggs are either powdered or fake, I believe - but so many hotel use these). There were plenty of choices and a good amount of seating. Coffee always hot and full and front desk staff were good. The Laundry area is large and plenty of units and everything you could need. The Pool was refreshing and never overcrowded. They do allow (or at least did allow) someone to have his boston terrier to swim in the pool - as they are "regular's" at the hotel.

Bathrooms spacious - but with the 2 BR, 2 BA - the living area is VERY crampt! The table in the kitchen seems too large - you have to move chiars to get into the fridge and thenmove them to get into the bedtoom. There were no kitchen drawers, but the silverware was down at the bottom of a cabinet.

Bathroom goodies were there and plenty - never needed more - towels clean, fresh, not too small - still hotel sized. But we did have plenty of towels. Bathrooms were generous in size!!! 3 TVS all in great working order.

No complaints excpet that the door was Sooooooooooo hard to open from inside and pretty hard from the outside too - but you could use the weiight of your body to push. A child could not open and certianly NOT get out - - - could be a fire hazzard. Elderly people would have a REALLY hard time!

Otherwise, I would stay again, it was very nice! Have been here before and will come back. I just wish they were better at laying out the kitchen's this was the 3rd unit I have stayed in here at this location and it is layed out horrible. But all else is good. Again, Huge bath and bedrooms, squishy living room and kitchen. But it worked for a few days!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlanFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife, daughter, and I used our Marriott Rewards points to stay in a Studio Suite for one night recently while on vacation. We always love staying in Residence Inns, particularly this one, and we've stayed at this hotel numerous times before. We've never been disappoined. That is, up until this time...

Just to be clear, the room wasn' bad, and there wasn't anything that I would classify as "major" that was wrong. But there were a lot more "little things" that were just "off" about this room (Room 303) than any other occasion that we've stayed here. There were numerous stains on the carpet -- how hard is it to remove those? Just about every lamp in the room was unplugged. The alarm clock was unplugged. The ice maker in the freezer didn't work, and at one point began making a loud noise. Only unplugging the refrigerator and plugging it back in got rid of it. But there was still no ice. The closet doors were missing. I mean, you could see where they used to be, because the tracks were still there, but the doors were gone. I'm not sure if the room was being remodeled or what, but it wasn't at all what I expected.

I'm not quite sure what to make of this experience. I suppose it's possible that they put us in "one of those rooms" simply because they were busy and we were using points and not paying for our stay. I don't know. I'd prefer to simply chalk it up as an aberation, and expect things to be better next time. And there will certainly be a next time for us, because as I said, our experience overall with this chain and this particular hotel has been great. I still recommend it -- just don't stay in 303... ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhl6493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJM24, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay and for being a repeat guest. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your visit. We are constantly striving to be the best hotel in Hoover, AL, and it is through our valued guests' input that we are able to improve. We look forward to serving you and your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Group of 20 for 2 days of business meetings and an afternoon round of golf. Great service and accommodations. Staff was very attentive and helpful.
For the golfers in our group, Mrs. Hartmann arranged tee time and saved the group over half what they expected to pay. Great facility, great staff. I highly recommend for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Most hotels are willing to give you a discount to earn your business and loyalty. I suggest becomin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyofSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJM24, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your group's recent business meeting and guest room accommodations at our hotel. It was our team's pleasure serving you and your fellow associates and I am pleased that all went well. I will be sure to share your comments with Ms. Hartmann, too. As you noted, she is surely a great ambassador for our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Alabama is a beautiful place to visit. friendly too!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ostach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The facilities were clean and updated; the staff was friendly and accommodating. The complementary breakfast is convenient and pretty good. The early dinners (free) are not great cuisine, but if you have kids it can save the cost and trouble of finding another place to eat. If you are staying for more than a couple days, get a suite for the extra room.

Check with the staff for good dining recommendations.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamiFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoover
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Hoover-Galleria
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham-SW-Riverchase-Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover

Address: 2725 John Hawkins Pkwy, Hoover, AL 35244-4004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Hoover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hoover
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoover
#4 Family Hotel in Hoover
Price Range: $123 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover is an all-suite extended stay hotel in Hoover, AL offerirng an ideal location off I-459, fully equipped kitchens, and complimentary WiFi, a daily breakfast buffet, parking, and evening socials at Inn Mix (M-W) featuring food and drinks. Unwind after a busy day on the road in one of our spacious studio, one bedroom, or two bedroom suites. Be healthy and happy while on the road by swimming some laps in our outdoor pool or fitting in a work out in the 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover Hotel Hoover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing