We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite dessert spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dreamcakes

Dreamcakes
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Homewood
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite dessert spot!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

There's never any room for dessert after eating lunch at Saw's ... but we always seem to make room for these cupcakes! I can't get away from the "Over the Moon" (white velvet) while my wife always gets the caramel. We always promise each other that we'll just have a bite now and save the rest for later ... but these cupcakes rarely make it out of the store! Certainly a must-stop for anyone with a sweet-tooth.

Helpful?
Thank ShaneAndChristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Da'Lish ”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

There are cup cakes and then there is Dreamcakes. This place bakes the best tasting cupcakes in Birmingham. My favorite is the peanut butter cup. My brother hired them for a wedding cake, again amazing, delicious, perfect.
All I can say is get ready to enjoy then go work out to drop all that goodness off your waistline.

Helpful?
1 Thank LifeIsGood1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
248 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The best cup cakes ever!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My family and I stopped in this place for cupcakes after lunch at Saw's BBQ, it's two doors down from Saw's. My daughter had the wedding cake cupcake, in which she said was excellent. I had the vanilla, cream cheese pound cake! Excellent, mouth watering cake. It cost $6.50 for both, so about $3.25 a piece and worth every cent!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonifromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Put Dreamcakes on your cupcake bucket list”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

After a fabulous rib lunch at Saw's, we wandered down the sidewalk a few yards and were delighted to find Dreamcakes. Creative cupcakes are packed into sweet pink boxes - although we are ours on the spot. Cafe tables, blackboard menus, vintage style beverages, cute square business cards and fun cake-themed sweatshirts & t-shirts give it a "bakery-chic" atmosphere. The highlight is the bake case--unique flavor and decorating combinations of more than cupcakes to choose from. We recommend Grapico, Chocolate Cheesecake and a super soft t-shirt (sizes run small).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mhdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Birthday cupcakes!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Needed to go by and pick up my wife a couple of last minute "birthday treats". Dreamcakes did not disappoint! The birthday cake cupcakes were awesome and the maple bacon cupcake was sent from heaven! Eat at one of the places nearby, but save room for cupcakes here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dreamcakes also viewed

 

Been to Dreamcakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing