We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steel City Pops - B'ham treat gem for hot days”
Review of Steel City Pops

Steel City Pops
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Homewood
Certificate of Excellence
Description: They sell the best gourmet, all natural popsicles in Birmingham!
Restaurant details
Description: They sell the best gourmet, all natural popsicles in Birmingham!
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Steel City Pops - B'ham treat gem for hot days”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

There is not much better on a hot, Summer day in Birmingham than enjoying a cool, refreshing treat from Steel City Pops. These gourmet pops come in some pretty funky flavors as well as many familiar ones, from lemon-lime to strawberry-basil to sweet tea to, yes, even avacado. The creamy versions of their pops are like more upscale versions of Mexican paletas. You can visit one of several locations around town, including at The Summit and a newly opened drive thru in a converted Airstream trailer on Hwy 280 next to the Vapor thrift store, or at one of the many outdoor markets or festivals in the city during the year. Prices are very reasobale at less than $3 a pop or 4 for $10. Get your punch card while you're there. Fill it up with each purchase and get a free pop. Yum!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UberUbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun place, great dessert”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We tried a few popsicles after dining at Little Donkey a few doors down...loved the vanilla bean and the caramel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooks O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Excellent place ....all my kids loved it and wanted to go back. We tried several and they were wonderful....kids liked the strawberry and watermelon flavors, my wife and I liked the buttermilk (tastes like cheesecake), and caramel. Worth the try! Good coffee place next door as well (Octane Coffee)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank daveskeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Paletas or Mexican style Popsicles are delicious. I have tried coffee, coconut, and blood orange. All were flavorful and fresh. Love this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grappagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Gourmet Popsicles are delicious”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Our niece recommended this place as a "must" try. We had to give them a try and so thankful because they are amazing. Who would have thought about gourmet Popsicles? We are so glad we have them a try. They are so unique but so delicious. We will make this a "must" stop.

Helpful?
Thank BedCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steel City Pops also viewed

 

Been to Steel City Pops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing