We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised and Delighted”
Review of Steel City Pops

Steel City Pops
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Homewood
Certificate of Excellence
Description: They sell the best gourmet, all natural popsicles in Birmingham!
Restaurant details
Description: They sell the best gourmet, all natural popsicles in Birmingham!
Franklin, TN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprised and Delighted”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'm a sucker for dessert, but did NOT want to try a popsicle. I would go back every day and try a new flavor. I tried the Peanut Butter Popsicle and was surprised at the body and creaminess. The line snaked out the door and my friend told me that this warm autumn day couldn't hold a leaf rake to the heat of summer.

It's tucked behind a great mexican restaurant. You might miss the sign from the road.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wmarkwhitlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you want something different...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Who would think a popcicle place would have a line out the door? This place is great for families and kids looking for an alternative to Fro-Yo. No seating, just order from one of the fruit or cream flavors and out the door you go, or stand in the open area and chat with your friends.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tracyo6618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Talk about Fast Food Dessert!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Tried Steel City Pops the other night. I had the Strawberry Balsamic Popsicle. They use fresh, pure flavors. Mine was delicious. Very balanced flavor. My husband had the Coconut (cream). And I had a taste. It too was perfection with real toasted coconut.. The pops are large and around $2 each. If you are taking to go they give you a zip lock insulated bag to get them home in their frosty condition. If you eat it there they cut the cello wrap baggy for you. Seven of us ordered and were on are way in about 2 minutes. Try that at an ice cream shop. Awesome concept and flavors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kstVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
“Yum pops”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is the best little popsicle shop. Their flavors are so fun and unique. There is quite a buzz about this shop. I love that they also have popsicle carts around the Birmingham area and if you like them on Facebook they will let you know where they will be for the day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty desserts + a frequency card = SCORE!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We love to grab a four pack, or a pop from one of the carts throughout town. Hibiscus and coconut are my favs, although my husband prefers the lime. Check their facebook page to find out where carts are each day (they are closed on Mondays).

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvleightoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steel City Pops also viewed

 

Been to Steel City Pops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing