We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is nicer than I expected for such a small place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Birmingham Homewood
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Reviewed November 25, 2013

They have a nice, large-hotel-style lobby with a small bar for food and drinks, almost like you would get in a nice hotel but on a much smaller scale. The rest of the lobby is clean and modern with comfortable places to sit and watch TV or just relax. CJ at the front desk was very pleasant and, from the moment I tried to make my reservation, everyone was extremely helpful.

The room was nothing exciting, but it was in good repair, everything worked, and the beds were comfortable. Oh, and clean. Very clean.

Parking was fine during the day, but we discovered that when we got home late that we had to walk a ways around the building.

This would be about 3.5 stars on my personal, much harder, grading scale, but they got a bump for doing it all right. I recommend them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Homewood, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and love to recongnize our staff. We will recognize CJ during our next stand up meeting from your kind words. Thanks again for the feedback and thank you for choosing Marriott!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Birmingham Homewood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 149 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

As per request of my grandfather who has Althimers, he wanted to go visit my brother in Birmingham this was the closest hotel to his home. we get there there was food all over the floor and under the coach bed. we notified the front desk (they did nothing) we tell them again in the morning about the disgusting food all over within a few hour of us visiting my brother we come back to our hotel room to discover bugs...(its late we go to sleep they said they didn't have another room) the next morning we take my grandpa to visist my brother and come back to the hotel. NOW THERE ARE BUGS IN THE BEDS AND TABLES AND ON THE PILLOW! We tell the front desk they said we called the exterminator company that all we can do. I said give us another room... 4 hours later we got another room.. they didnt help us moved or anything the MANAGER WAS RUDE and DIDNT CARE. We were horribly upset and my grandpa was in a very upset state to the point we had to cut our trip short and bring him home to see his dr. I contacted the HOTEL they said we are not going to do anything. we wont refund your money for one night. we dont see that we did anything wrong. When i booked the room i told them i was traveling with someone with special needs. They dont care if they ruin your trip... STAY ELSEWHERE... I Have pics and video of the hotel with bugs crawling on the beds and tables... I didn't swim but the poor was filthy with crap floating on the water....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BcSmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Homewood, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay at our hotel this past summer. We obviously want to hear both the positive and also improvement areas our hotel has. I apologize regarding your experience as a whole and would love to try and speak with you about it and see what we can do to rectify anything and also apologize in person. I can be reached at (205) 879-0400. In the meantime you can rest assure that I will look into each aspect of your feedback and rectify as needed. Thank you for choosing Marriott!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an awesome hotel. I stayed here for 5 nights for the Brookwood opening and the place is perfect. The check in was a breeze I had a great room. Everyone was so friendly. I really enjoyed my stay. There is only one elevator but that is ok plenty of parking did not have one complaint. Great for business travelers

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms near the elevator or the back corner those are the quiet ones
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaGaMichele3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Homewood, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us! We appreciated your business and are thrilled to have the brand new Fresh Market right out of our front door. My staff is an eqully excited having the Fresh Market to recommend to guests and appreciated your kind words on the service received while with our hotel. Please do not hesitate to see us agan when in the Birmingham area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This Courtyard was just as great as the one in La Jolla, CA. From walking in to the modern lobby and greeting area to the service at the counter. We arrived late and received the exact room we were looking for. There was no parking available out front, and I parked my car curbside away from the entrance without anyone complaining. Very nice. The room was perfect temperature upon arrival, clean and the usual modern look that we have come to like so much. Slept very well without any noise. The next morning the bistro allowed us the luxury of grabbing a pear and walnut parfait and smoothie on our way out the door as we headed to the football game. The location is close by the 65 and right by some good restaurants as well. You can't go wrong with this hotel and I will choose it over any full service Marriott hotel elsewhere in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goeverywhere83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Homewood, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for you kind comments regarding your stay with us! We love to hear when all aspects of our guests stay goes well. Our staff loves the feedback and we continue to push to give the level of service and quality of product to come to find with Marriott. We would love to have you back when in Birmingham again whether it be to follow the Tide (RTR) or on business or othr pleasure travel. Thank you for choosing Marriott!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Myself and two other guys shared a room for a conference we were attending at Samford University. It was very close to Samford, as well as a shopping complex, restaurants, etc. We reserved this room by bidding on Priceline, and were given a room with one king bed and a sofabed. All sheets and pillows for the sofabed were in the room, and I would assess it a 5/10 on the comfortable scale (it is a sofabed). We didn't eat breakfast, as you had to pay for it ($3-$12) we were told, and opted for Chick-fil-A instead. The room was a bit small, but had a nice, large TV. It was also a huge hotel, and you had two walk all the way around it to get to the elevator, which was a bit odd. The staff who checked us in was not the most friendly, but got the job done. Overall, it was a good deal for a quick one-night stay, especially when booked through Pricleine. Not sure if it would have been worth it for us had we paid full price.

Room Tip: Anything above the first floor will require a long walk to the elevator, or a walk up stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Homewood, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay! We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us room to improve for future guests and increase our level of service. We love our location to Samford (Go Bulldogs!) and appreciate all the business it brings to our hotel. If you are ever in the area again we would love the opportunity to nail our service increse your loyalty to Marriott. We can even get you a specified room if needed just give any of our managers a call and we can pre-block your room. Thanks for chooing Marriott and we look forward to your future stays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked this hotel on line and were not sure what to expext. Very nice well kept property, the staff were very pleasant, the rooms were clean and the out door areas were kept very clean. What more could you ask for! I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Thier rooms face out into the parking lot areas or in to the pool area, I would definitely request a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Homewood, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Good Day! Thank you so much for your kind words. We have shared your comments with our staff and they love to hear when their hard work is paying off. We strive to ensure our hotel is well kept and in good condition for all our guests and it sounds like we met those expectations with you. Thanks again for the comments and please visit us if you are in Birmingham again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this Marriott. The room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. The bed was superb resulting in a great night's sleep. The pool and outdoor seating areas were very nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Homewood, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

It was great to hear your comments on your stay with our hotel! We love our outdoor patio and pool area and our guests enjoy it each hot summer day here in the south. We strive to give the best service and product we can here at the Courtyard and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this. Please visit us again and thank you for choosing Marriott!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homewood
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook
1.0 mi away
aloft Birmingham Soho Square
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Mountain Brook, Autograph Collection
3.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel Birmingham/Homewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Birmingham Homewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Birmingham Homewood

Address: 500 Shades Creek Pkwy, Homewood, AL 35209-4418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Homewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Price Range: $116 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Birmingham Homewood 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at its finest when you stay at Courtyard Birmingham Homewood. Boasting a convenient location near the great shopping and dining at The Summit, Samford University, Birmingham Southern University and the Birmingham Botanical Gardens, our hotel is perfect for both business travelers and vacationers. Before exploring popular nearby attractions, get a good night's sleep inspired by our luxury bedding. In the morning, take care of your work obligations using our free Wi-Fi, or grab a delicious breakfast meal from our on-site restaurant, The Bistro. Once you've fueled up, take a trip to our fitness center to squeeze in a workout using our cardio equipment and free weights, then cool down afterwards with a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Birmingham Homewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Birmingham Homewood Hotel Homewood
Courtyard Homewood
Homewood Courtyard
Homewood Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing