We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
100
122
55
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
122
55
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tablewithin walking distancetrendy hotelshops and restaurantsgreat areafun placeparking garagelobby barsliding doorbusiness tripbed was comfortableflat screen tvindoor poolthe room was nicebirminghamweddingtoys
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 322 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Fabulous hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. Quick check in, safe parking and convenient located to great sushi restaurant and shopping. I think it is fairly new so Very,very clean. The room layout is very modern and simple lines, fantastic shower as well.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
Thank alabama850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Starting with the good -- room was lovely and clean; staff helpful; location great; bartenders interesting, fun, sassy; gym/pool perfectly servicable. Then the odd -- no tubs, ipod docks, or light switches for in bed reading lamps anywhere close to within reach of the bed. The prices was a bit on the high side given these missed details.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

I am going to make this short and sweet. I am a 180 night Starwood traveler.
I stay in St. Regis, Westin, W, aLoft, and Sheraton's. The aLoft has the typical clean lines of a European Hotel. A little bit "loft like" / "green-oriented" / trendy.

What the aLoft isn't is a W. It doesn't try to be. The user below refers to it as a W. It is not. I like to deal in facts rather than false claims. This place is set in a great area in Soho Square. Some fabulous restaurants and great bars. The area is trendy and SAFE!

Anyone doing business in BHAM would serve themselves well staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Definitely not a hotel for everyone, but pretty nice for a basic services hotel. If you've ever stayed at a Novotel in Europe, for example, you know the type - clean lines, scandinavian looking furniture, bright colors in the lobby and limited interaction with the hotel staff. For a solo traveler on a short trip it's good - rooms are clean and fairly spacious, there's a host of choices on the TV, free wifi (though it can get slow, as all hotel wi-fis in Birmingham...) and a nice common area downstairs. There's a small fitness room that is open 24 hours a day, a small heated pool, and a convenience shop (selling not just candy and drinks, but also salads and some basic sandwiches). There's plenty of parking downstairs or outside in front, and you are one block away from downtown Homewood with plenty of shops and restaurants (word of caution - shops close early in this part of the world...). And the lobby, with its bar, modern furniture and cool fireplace is a place you might actually want to hang out in, not just pass through.

Pros:

- Location - walking distance to quite a few restaurants and shops and 5 minutes from both downtown and Five Points
- Restaurant attached open till 10/11 PM depending on day of the week
- Nice shower and Bliss amenities
- Cool lobby with a bar in it
- Very clean
- Nice (if small) indoor pool

Minus points for:

- Beds are on the harder end of the scale - if you can't sleep on a firm mattress, this is not the hotel for you.
- Limited service, but that is in the very definition of the hotel so just know this is the case
- Short on hanging / closet space - OK for 2 / 3 nights but not more. After that you might miss some drawers.
- Could use a light switch by the bed, especially when you get up at night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I booked four rooms for four different families traveling with young kids! With this in mind the importance of next to each other with connecting doors was the most important! I labeled each room with the name of each family. This was all confirmed by reservations. Upon arrival they allowed one of the families to check into one of the rooms we actually reserved. But when the rest of the families arrived they did not have the rooms next door to each other much less all on the same floor. We were told the rooms were all first come first serve theory!?!?!?! Then why take reservations at all! The next problem came when we unloaded the car. No bellhop service at all. You carry luggage for four families to rooms scattered in the resort. I paid the front desk clerk 20.00 to help! Next issue we had was with traveling with children we needed to have the linen changed on one bed. The housekeeper was asked to do this and the proper paper in the room for this was left on the bed in need. You guessed it, that never happened. The day of checkout our little check out paper came to us with the wrong name on it. Right room number but wrong name. I'm glad no one was looking for us! Much less an emergency to have happened! Upon checking out one of the families complained and they gave one night free to every room. That was nice but when you check into a "W" Starwood hotel you expect more! Alot more!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onvacationFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews