We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Starwood option just outside of Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
aloft Birmingham Soho Square
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Redwood City, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Starwood option just outside of Birmingham”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Sheraton in Birmingham and really did not like it - very poor location, no vibe, etc. Thankfully I found the Aloft. I travel to Birmingham frequently and only stay at this Aloft. The hotel is located in what is basically the (safe) downtown of an upscale residential area just outside of Birmingham (less than a 10.00 cab ride) and probably 20 minutes from the airport. Downtown Homewood has a few restaurants/bars/taverns and quite a few clothing boutiques and antique stores, which I think is the big draw to Homewood for people who do not live there.

The Aloft also has its own lobby bar and a nice restaurant attached to the hotel, both of which attract many locals in addition to hotel guests. There is generally always a vibe/scene in the lobby area consisting of locals and guests of all ages and backgrounds. The lobby area is designed to feel like a big casual lounge, which in addition to the bar includes a pool table area, as well as a fireplace area with plenty of couch seating and nooks from which to socialize/people-watch. The hotel desk staff and bar staff are absolutely top notch. The Aloft has the most sincere and friendliest team of people I have encountered at any hotel.

The rooms are not the main attraction of the hotel, however they are totally in line with what a reasonable traveler should expect for the rate. The rooms have a minimalist design and as noted elsewhere do not have dresser drawers. There is open shelving and a closet hanging rod that can be concealed with a curtain. If you designed a hotel room using Ikea it might turn out to feel similar to the Aloft rooms. The rooms are clean and the cleaning staff friendly.

I highly recommend this hotel as a great Starwood option in the Birmingham area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reinsiedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    109
    53
    23
    19
See reviews for
55
50
24
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I'm a member of Starwood Preferred and saw this hotel on their site. Looked beautiful and modern as well as advertised that there was no need to bring your charging for devices as they had a central "charger" in the room. When we got there we walked into our room the safe didnt work, and the "central charging station" that they bragged about turned out to be just a hub for all of you chargers! Next day didnt improve as the coffee pot was broken. View from the room was the police station/jail. All in all not an impressive first impression. Beds were comfy though.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftHomewood, Manager at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Cheryl C,

I am sorry that your first impression of Aloft Birmingham Soho Square was disappointing. We pride ourselves in delivering accurate information through all of our outlets. I have looked into all of your comments, and we will explore new opportunities to deliver the best features and accommodations in the future. We always strive to improve upon our guest experiences and I appreciate your feedback so that we can exceed your expectations. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance the next time you travel to Birmingham.

James Glass
Operations Manager
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Pros: Good location in Homewood, walkable to many restaurants/bars/shopping in the neighborhood. Convenient to downtown/280 corridor. Newer property, clean rooms, quiet area. Rates are always reasonable for the accomodations. Nice lobby/bar/courtyard area.
Cons: Not really too much to complain about here. Maybe the breakfast options could be better, but I usually skip it and go elsewhere anyway.
Verdict: I've stayed here multiple times & would stay here again. This is typically my first choice when travelling to Birmingham.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmag00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftHomewood, Manager at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for the "thumbs up" MRMAGOO!

We pride ourselves on offering outstanding service and accommodations, and I appreicate guests that take the time to let us know how we are doing. I will share your comments with the team, and do what we can to improve in the areas you noted. We look forward to seeing you the next time travel brings you to Birmingham!

Elaine Powell
General Manager
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It's a nice comptemporary hotel. Beds were comfortable. The water could've been a little hotter for we stayed there in mid January and it would've been nicer. I did not like the fact that the a/c unit is right across from one of the beds. If the person sleeps in that second bed you will get either very cold or very hot.
We did not have a chance to partake in the complimentary breakfast, but it seems as it is a normal cereal, fruit and pastries.
Overall it was an ok experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsetMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftHomewood, Manager at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, Dana I!!

I truly appreciate when guests take the time to share their experience at the Aloft Birmingham Soho Square. I'm so glad you were comfortable, and we look forward to seeing you the next time travel brings you to Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is going for hip chic. It comes off as cheap and cold. The rooms from pillows,linens,matress are all uncomfortable. Not luxurious at all. There is only a desk chair in the room so if you want to read you are out of luck except for the bed. There is no bathtub and no drawers to put your clothes in. There are reading lights above the bed. They are controlled by one switch on one side of one bed. So if one person wants to read and the other doesn't guess what it's like a spotlight shining down on you u til you ask your roommate to turn out the light. Who thought of that? The common areas were dirty. The staff was ok but not real friendly. It was more like a budget hotel that costs what a 4 or 5 star would cost. Totally not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acorn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftHomewood, Manager at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear acom2006:

I'm so sorry your stay here at the Aloft Birmingham Soho Square was disappointing. I have reviewed all of your comments, and will investigate opportunities to remedy the situations. We are proud of our service and accommodations, but there is always room for improvement. I truly appreciate the feedback. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can be of further assistance the next time travel brings you to Birmingham.

SIncerely,

Elaine Powell
General Manager
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a perfect place as a one nigh "layover". The rooms were nicely done, modern and large screen TV in between the windows. Pricing was perfect as was the location as it was just a few miles in from the south part of Birmingham. They had free parking, great food bar with plenty of choices for breakfast or late night snack. The front desk staff was attentive and we felt welcome right away. I would stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goeverywhere83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftHomewood, General Manager at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to offer outstanding service and accommodations, and I will definitely share your comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you the next time travel brings you to Birmingham.

Sincerely,

Elaine Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

At the end of a 5000 mile driving trip with two small poodles, we were delighted to find this small chic hotel in Birmingham. Although its obvious appeal was to younger professionals, it nonetheless proved welcoming to us older folks as well as to children. The rooms are quite spacious, rather like big city loft apartments; the decor is imaginative, and the staff friendly. We especially appreciated management's interest in conservation as evidenced, for instance, by the inconspicuous recycling containers in the rooms and public spaces. Neat bar area, way-above-average "snack" shop, convenient covered parking. Travelers wanting an alternative lodging experience will be pleased with this establishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftHomewood, General Manager at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Malcolm M:

Wow! 5000 thousand miles is a lot of driving. I'm sure it was an adventure with the poodles along. We LOVE pets! Thank you so much for your feedback, and I will definitely share your comments with my team.

We look forward to seeing you the next time travel brings you to or through BIrmingham!

Sincerely,
Elaine Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homewood
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
2.9 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Mountain Brook, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Homewood
4.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Birmingham Soho Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Birmingham Soho Square

Property: aloft Birmingham Soho Square
Address: 1903 29th Ave S, Homewood, AL 35209-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Homewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Birmingham Soho Square 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square is a hip new hotel! Enjoy the chic amenities of Soho Square. Walk to great shopping and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your aloft Birmingham Soho Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square Hotel Homewood
Aloft Hotel Homewood
Birmingham Soho Square Aloft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing