We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for business & fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
aloft Birmingham Soho Square
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I actually stayed in this hotel off and on for a grand total of 9 weeks from January 2011 to May 2011 for business. I loved that there are various dining options within very close walking distance from the hotel. I liked that the hotel bar was open until midnight. I liked that the hotel caters to the "tech savvy" in that each room has an ipod hookup that allows you to listen to your ipod via the TV (not to mention wi-fi in the lobby, ipod hookups on the workout equipment, etc). The rooms were clean, sleek and had a small "dorm fridge" which was awesome for keeping waters and snacks in the room. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The hotel staff is amazing - they took time to learn my name during my stay and always greeted each guest with a smile. I even returned a month later to the area for a personal trip and we stayed at this hotel. If you are looking for a young, hip hotel vibe this is your place!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the parking garage. Also, I think rooms that end in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenlized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 305 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

I'm not a fan of drop of the moment trips because they typically involve me rushing to find someone to watch my dog. My boyfriend and I recently decided just such a trip was necesary a few weeks ago.....this time however we seemed to strike oil when we found the aloft in Birmingham.

This hotel offers the contemporary, clean setting we crave when we travel as well as an outstanding pet policy. All pets are welcomed with a treats, bowls and a few toys. It was incredible!! Typically you can't take even take a pet with you on your trips and here they went above and beyond to make us and our furry family friend comfortable and welcomed.

Thanks ALOFT, I've already recommended your hotel to every one of my friends, some of which have already made their future plans to visit nearby cities.

Room Tip: search for pet friendly hotel options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I arrived late and was greeted at the front desk with a smile from the two gentlemen at the desk. My room was very clean and the hotel staff was very friendly. My stay as I titled the review was tremendous and I would love to come and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I was excited to stay there, the check-in employee Krerstan, (sorry if spelled wrong) was great also the engineer that fixed the window shade.
Great location convienant to everywhere, although they charged me consistantly for everything, and were consistently asking what room we were in. Paid over $5.00 for a cup of quaker oatmeal and banana, though the free coffee was a nice touch. Spoke to other guests they were also of the same mind set .
I suggested charging guests for lunch and late night, since their "grab and go" looked great , but I never recieved a reply from a manager or even an acknowledgement.

Had problems with the tax-exempt, I was told that they had to charge the taxes due to the county. Well, another hotel I stayed in a week or so before (about a mile away) in the same county didn't have a problem with this, when presented with proper ID and paperwork. Is it to difficult to remove taxes from a guests folio?

I stated how unhappy I was to one of the front desk employees, the desk manager never got in touch with me, this was rather dissapointing especially since I have worked in hotels for 10 years and understood how important this issue was to the guest, but maybe not to this hotel. In three days I had a backache and since then from using their horrid beds.

In conclusion if you are looking for a hotel that is interested in guests returning and want their impression of the hotel, then by all means, choose another one this hotel is not it.

Andrew Miller
Austin Texas

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the aloft last weekend for our anniversary. We wanted a nice quiet unique hotel and we found it at aloft! The service was wonderful and the room was clean and modern. We did not once have noise from a neighbor or the music from the lobby(which was not as loud as some of the reviews had said.) Now that being said we do not believe it is a hotel made for travelers with children. Mostly it seems like a very trendy place to stay for people just wanting a different kind of hotel from the holiday inns and every other traditional hotel. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel19jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftHomewood, General Manager at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on offering outstanding services and accommodations! I'm so glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay. I hope you meet you personally the next time you are in the hotel! Elaine Powell
General Manager
Elaine.Powell@AloftBirminghamSohoSquare.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

To the hotel manager:

One week in advance, I made a reservation at your hotel via the internet for a stay arriving on March 4 and checking out on March 6 for two queen beds.

Upon our arrival at 8 p.m. after driving 4 hours with two children, we were welcomed by the young man at the registration desk and were asked our name. He then looked at the computer and told us that you had no rooms available! He said that the internet booking had overbooked the hotel. Due to the actions of the person working the front desk, I felt that there were some rooms, however, they were being held for other parties. If you were indeed overbooked, he should have told me that prior to waiting and searching the internet, then telling me.

He told me that you all were sending overbooked guests to the Embassy Suites. When I asked him if there were rooms there, he hesitated and said, "I don't know. I will call and ask." !!!!!

We did not want to stay at an Embassy Suites or we would have made the reservation for Embassy Suites. We left and stayed at the Renaissance Ross Bridge Resort where they were extremely welcoming and much more versed in hotel guest customer service.

I am very frustrated with:

1) the fact that a corporation the size of Starwood who prides themselves in customer service would allow this to happen
2) the lack of communication -- someone should have CALLED us to tell us there was a problem
3) the lack of experience of this person at registration (I asked for a statement saying that I was NOT going to get charged, and he told me that he didn't know how to print that. I then asked for a manager, and he told me that there wasn't a manager working at night -- they only worked days. However, he did call someone who came up to the desk who looked at the computer, said nothing to me, whispered to the front desk employee and left).


We were extremely disappointed, and although we've been a fan of Starwood and W Hotel brands in the past, we will NEVER book a room at your hotel again for fear of being overbooked.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank FlipFlopsandCaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Wouldn't be scared to stay here again. I liked the layout of the room and the staff was nice. I was not impressed that they didn't mention or talk at all about Starwood status and the pool was bare bones. Didn't have a book about the hotel with services or a map in the room of the hotel so be ready to call the front desk. No hot tub, water was very chilly but the workout facility was nicer than expected. Close to restaurants and make sure you visit the Tuti Fruti-sp? ice cream place across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dble-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homewood
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
1 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Homewood
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham/Mountain Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
2.9 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Birmingham Soho Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Birmingham Soho Square

Address: 1903 29th Ave S, Homewood, AL 35209-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Homewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Price Range: $155 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Birmingham Soho Square 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square is a hip new hotel! Enjoy the chic amenities of Soho Square. Walk to great shopping and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your aloft Birmingham Soho Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square Hotel Homewood
Aloft Hotel Homewood
Birmingham Soho Square Aloft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing