We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Going to the Next Hotel”
Review of Days Inn Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Hamilton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Cumming
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Keep Going to the Next Hotel”
Reviewed November 30, 2008

This Days Inn is pathetic. A large cockroach greeted us on entering the room. He is no longer in this world. The top sheets had large cigarette burn holes. There were lots of pillows available. The room was warm and quite. Unfortunately, the towels were thin and in short supply. The radio was as dead the cockroach. With AAA the price was $67/night. Take your bucks and stay at the Key West Inn at the other end of town. Newer, cleaner, and no six legged greeters.

  • Liked — Lots of pillows albeit the pillow cases were stained
  • Disliked — Bugs and nasty linen
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_Tripper_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn10668, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are very sorry about your experience. Since your stay in 2008, we have upgraded our rooms, changed cleaning staff, and front-desk staff. We would like to improve your stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    38
    15
    16
See reviews for
61
23
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

We had a Days Inn book on all their motel locations and picked this one as it was the closest to our location on the way home from Thanksgiving with family. My wife called ahead and asked if they had a room for 3 that was non-smoking. They did so we stopped. If there had been something closer we would have ran out of this place. But it was late and the next closest motel was in either Jasper or Birmingham which was just too far.

The bed sheets were really questionable so my wife called and asked for clean sheets for both beds which we changed ourselves. The sheets were horrible, old and ill fitting. The blankets had either cigarette burns or tears (it was hard to tell which) in many places (this was a non-smoking room) and we tossed the comforters in the corner since they were so questionable in terms of cleanliness. The door was hung in such a way that there was at least an inch under the door that let us see into the parking lot. The room had two rickety chairs and a table that was so shaky I thought it was going to fall apart.

Though this was not the motels fault, at least 8 guys were checked into the rooms all around our room and they were deer hunters. At 4:00 AM, all we could hear was the noise from these rooms as these guys got ready to hunt. They then stood out in the parking lot for about 10 minutes talking and revving their diesel trucks as if it was 3 o'clock in the afternoon. The only good thing about this noise was that it woke us up and and we got out of this place as quick as we could.

We have stayed in Days Inn in other locations that were very nice. The thing I found astonishing was the sign over the main entrance that indicated this place was a Chairman's Award winner and that it had recently been renovated. If what we saw was a renovation I am really glad we never saw the pre-renovation motel!

My advice would be to keep going on US-78 until Jasper or Birmingham, AL or if you are heading west, keep going until Tupelo, MS.

  • Liked — There was not a single redeeming thing about this place.
  • Disliked — There are too many things wrong to list them all.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank drbubba1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn10668, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are very sorry about your experience. Since your stay, we have changed our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Monticello, KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

I was quite pleased with our room. We stayed two nights in late September 2008. We had a king room which was quite comfortable. The room was large with a nice sitting area and a good selection of television channels. The bed was comfortable, with plenty of pillows. The only complaint I had was the exterior door did not fit real tight. It locked ok, but you could see light around it and a couple of flies came in. Staff was courteous during check in and check out. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KatPhishKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn10668, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and suggestions! We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Got overcharged AND double charged. Staff very rude, wall plates over plugs missing. Ants in rooms and bedbugs. Walls thin and floors shaky. No vending. We tried to resolve the situation and were treated like criminals or worse. Highly recommend you keep going for Tupelo or Birmingham. The towels are like brillo. Very bad travel experience for a family with children. We left 20 dollars for tip and still got treated like low-rent vandals. BOO!

  • Liked — next to the highway
  • Disliked — rudeness.overcharged and double charged. bugs and ants. thin walls, shaky floors. no elevators.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn10668, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are very sorry about your experience. Our hotel has been upgraded and has changed all staff since your stay. We would look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

We took a "wherever-we-wind-up" road trip and wound up here. A little un-nerved by the employee who talked to himself, who assured us they "had no crime in Hamilton" because "we have a jail just down the street" (and who was in the jail we wondered - law abiding citizens?) when we voiced our concerns about a group of loiterers in the parking lot. The same employee also assured us the next morning, that the bread they had run out of "would be here in 15 minutes" (believable because we could see the Super Wal-Mart from the motel). After 20 minutes the other employee came in with drinks for both of them but no bread, which was all I wanted to eat (the other choices were 2 types of cereal and store-bought blueberry muffins, risky for a person like me who has food allergies). He offered no apologies but when we checked out, the very nice woman did apologize - which goes a long way. Overall though, the Hamilton Day's Inn was clean, comfortable, quite quiet and in a convenient location. We had a king size bed, microwave and refrigerator. The aforementioned friendly, (female) employee also gave us a list of local eateries, some guest-recommended. We took the recommendation and went to Oh! Bryan!, a great little steakhouse, reasonably priced and had the best meal of our trip.

  • Liked — the location and the list of restaurants (with recommended one highlighted)
  • Disliked — one of the employees, the men loitering in the parking lot
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imlin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn10668, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your compliments about our hotel. We are very sorry about being out of bread; we have changed staff since your stay and they keep our breakfast well stocked. We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxahatchee, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

Very nice motel. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by 107 degree temperature. Thankfully, the A/C in our clean and comfy room was fantastic. The average free breakfast was plentiful and the staff very friendly...Madison, our 13 lb. dachshund, enjoyed his stay, as well.

If you try looking for a good place to eat, nearby, but you do not appreciate "Southern Food" (fried everything w/gravy)...Forget about it!

Why only 4 stars? Our room was on the 2nd floor and there is no elevator....Not fun dragging luggage when you're melting in the heat!

A nice touch was a call from the front desk, shortly after check in. They wanted to make sure that we were pleased with our room...Yes we were!

  • Liked — Great A/C!
  • Disliked — No elevator to 2nd floor...Outdoor staircase!
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat dinner prior to arrival in this area!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrspiggy549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn10668, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guin
Holiday Inn Guin
#1 of 2 in Guin
93 reviews
2.0 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
80 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winfield
Hampton Inn Winfield
#1 of 2 in Winfield
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hamilton Holiday Motel
Hamilton Holiday Motel
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
11 reviews
11.8 mi away
No photo provided
Relax Inn Guin
#2 of 2 in Guin
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hamilton

Property: Days Inn Hamilton
Address: 1849 Military St S, Hamilton, AL 35570-6618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hamilton 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing