We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ”
Review of Buttahatchee BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Buttahatchee BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Sulligent, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BBQ”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A great place to get good southern BBQ.Lots of good food for a decent price.Friendly staff ready to please the customer.A must do if you ar in this area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
235 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in the Area”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

There are 3-4 barbecue places in the Hamilton area, but Buttahatchee is my favorite. Of course, there are many, many types of sauce out there, and everyone has different tastes. But, the thing that sets this place apart is the meat; it is VERY smoky, as opposed to tasting like oven-baked. I could eat it WITHOUT the sauce :-)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cruiser9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, AL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A favorite local establishment”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I love the food at this place. They also serve a great salad with grilled chicken. Famous for Bar-B-Q, but the ribs and steaks are good too. Right on the new interstate on the Hwy 35 exit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAYETTE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Buttahatchee BBQ”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a good family restaurant to visit. It has a wide variety of items on the menu from chicken, pork, beef and fish. Salads are good too. I believe you will like it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bamamargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is within walking distance of the Key West Inn where we stayed. We tried it for lunch. It was average at best. They only offer pork so no brisket which disappointed my husband. I ordered the grilled chicken breast dinner which comes with two sides. The house salad was good with the usual toppings plus black olives which I wasn't crazy about but of course easy to remove. The grilled chicken was moist and was seasoned with lemon-pepper. It was good and the crinkle cut fries were not over cooked or greasy. However, my husband ordered the pork plate. He said that it had to be the worst pork he's ever had. It was dry and the sauce on the side had a very heavy vinegar flavor. The potato salad was tasteless and he only ate two bites. It was a shame his cost $13 with tip. He did say the sweet tea was very good. The service was efficient and friendly. They were very busy but the food arrived in a timely manner. I would eat again but I wouldn't get the BBQ which is rather odd considering it is a BBQ place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNTravelinCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttahatchee BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing