We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management steel you money!!!!!!”
Review of Key West Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key West Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
clermont,fl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Management steel you money!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

They over charged my card and refuse to refund my money they are thieves and the place is very creepy to boot. STAY AWAY. ...Management and Ownership do not care about repeat business. They want to catch you on you way through. They are small town and small minded. They carpet looks like you are in a cheap office. The Breakfast is absoulutely nothing but coffee and some apple pies in a bag. Pass by this one go to one of the known chains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shawn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
- Person does not dispute that he did not show for a guaranteed reservation.
- Person was charged as agreed.
- Person vowed to damage reputation of the hotel.
- Rules of this website do not allow supporting emails to be printed here.

Our employees read a script to all guests making reservations. Those employees then initial that script line-by-line as the script is read. This is all done at the front desk where the security system records the employee reading this script to verify that the employee has performed their job properly. This individual was charged according to the reservation agreement.

Please note that this person is a one-time hit-and-run reviewer. Please consider the postings from our guests who pay as agreed.

- We are a family-owned hotel with roots in the local community.
- Key West Inn is an American-Owned hotel that promotes the same values that we all grew up expecting in a hotel.
- We have just been rated as the cleanest hotel in Marion County (99/100) as inspected by the State of Alabama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    13
    3
    13
See reviews for
26
15
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Key West Inn is directly on US-78/Corridor X between Birmingham, Alabama and Tupelo, Mississippi. This is a new hotel about three miles from downtown Hamilton. The room was larger than I expected for a hotel of this size. The lady at the counter was so nice. the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean.

Upon check-in, we saw that the bathroom sink drain seemed to be a little slow. When we mentioned this to the lady at the counter, it was addressed almost immediately. According to the hotel manager, this drain is special because you have a good chance of retrieving your earring or other item. So if you see this, don't worry about it.

We did not try the continental breakfast that was offered. Next door to the Key West Inn is the Huddle House which has a descent breakfast. While the Huddle House is no IHOP or Cracker Barrel, it is the best breakfast you can find in Hamilton unless you want to visit the McDonald's.

If we are in the Hamilton area again, this hotel will be on our list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for stopping and staying with us. We are doing our best to provide you with a clean, secure, and reasonable place to stay while in Hamilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

One of the best moderate price motel stays ever. Very, very clean. Excellent firm bed. Great rates. Don't miss the hummingbirds feeding outside the breakfast area window. Snack type breakfast but Huddle House about 100 feet away if you need it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asburydan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words. We are truly happy to have you as a guest.

Your review hits on exactly what we are striving for ... clean, secure, reasonable.

And you are right, for those individuals who want a big American-style breakfast, Huddle House is a great place to stop ... never an unkind review ... and also American-owned by a local family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a three year old building right off the freeway at exit 14. The building is pretty plain but not to the point of being ugly. It was fairly priced for this type of hotel.

Reception was friendly and they went out of their way to be helpful. Plus they had a delightful southern accent. Public areas were clean and the carpets were well kept

The room was very basic but clean. The beds were firm, had a fridge & microwave. TV was tube type but adequate. A/C worked fine and kept the room cool in spite of 100 degree temps. Bath overall was fine. 4 bath towels that were in good shape. There was one place were the tub met the wall that had a little mold but that seemed to be a design flaw and not poor housekeeping.

Breakfast was awful. Some packaged pastries that were simply not edible. We went somewhere else for breakfast. There is a Huddle House next door that was marginal. It had been a long time since I was in a restaurant that allowed smoking.

Room Tip: Room in the middle had zero road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATCRAIG1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you very much for letting you know how you felt. We are paying attention to TripAdvisor.com.

Our continental breakfast has several types of premium pastries, premium juices, and premium coffee. We believe it is a great way to start a day.

We hope our clean rooms, 24-hour attentive staff, and competitive rates will help you decide to come back. Key West Inn of Hamilton ... Clean, Secure, Reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here one night and was very pleased. We booked a king room. The rooms were very spacious with a desk, recliner, small round table, two night stands, small fridge and of course a bed. The bathrooms were ample size. They were both clean and comfy. The bed was very comfortable. To top it off the pillows were actually usable pillows and not those balls of fluff that are standard at most hotels. The front desk attendants were both pleasant and helpful. We didn't try the breakfast. There is a Huddle House right next door and a BBQ place within walking distance. The only down side to our room was that the drains were VERY slow. That kinda grossed me out. I did tell the front desk attendant. She apologized and made a note immediately for maintance to check it out. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNTravelinCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to let the next guest know what to expect. All was positive except your mention of the slow draining sink. We understand and apologize. However, from years of experience taking items out of p-traps in hotels, we built this hotel with a non-pluggable drain that has seven small drain holes to keep earrings and other small items from getting lost. The drains are clean (much cleaner than most due to the small holes) and will handle all the water that can be put to them by the faucet, but we admit that are not as fast as your own consumer-grade drain at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Inn itself was very nice and convenient to everything. The breakfast was just unedible. I do not eat sweets and I am sure there are a lot of people who cannot eat sweets because of health reasons. All they had was Danish, Orange juice and coffee. They could at least have bagels and cream cheese or english muffins. or toast. It was the most unhealthy meal I have ever seen in a Motel.
They really need to do something about this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullraw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Surveys show that less than 1/3 of Americans eat breakfast. The lodging industry reports an average increase in room rate of $17 per room at "free" full breakfast hotels.
After very careful consideration, re-consideration, industry information, guest feedback, and personal experience, it is clear to us that most people would prefer the opportunity to decide whether they will pay for a full breakfast that they are not going to eat. Clearly "Free Breakfast" is a deceptive illusion.
We are family-owned and are focused on providing a room that is "utmost" as clean as possible ... that we would want our children to stay in. Internally, we are always at high-alert for anything that is not satisfactory.
Our breakfast is not advertised as a "meal," but is a continental breakfast. There are several types of premium pastries, premium juices, and premium coffee. We believe it is a great way to start a day.
Thank you for your business and feedback. Your feedback shapes the service and hospitality that we are here to provide. We hope our clean rooms and competitive rates will help you decide to come back.
Key West Inn of Hamilton ... Clean, Secure, Reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were looking for a nights sleep during a long journey.

The building was new though it was built without an elevator, which was OK, I was able to help my elderly parents up the nice wide steps.
When we got to our room , the lights were on, I noticed flying bugs. I spent a great deal of time killing them with a towel before I noticed that the window was open (no screen). It made for a tough night in June in Alabama. The room next door was occupied by a group of children traveling with a ball team or something and there was no adult in the room. They romped and stomped until well after midnight.
I asked for two non-smoking rooms, my room did not smell of smoke (maybe due to the open window) my parents room however did. They said they could tell it was a non-smoking room because the ashtray was turned over on the table.
The next morning, I found that there was no remote control in my room, that added to the open window and the lights being on made me think that some of the kids running wild in the hotel had been playing in my room. The thought that someone had been able to get into the room bothered me the most.
We decided to grab some of the continental breakfast and then get on our way. There were a few prepackaged sweet rolls and a little coffee, we went to McDonalds.
When we went to the front desk (the second time) the manager hid in his office and told the clerk to come tell us that there was nothing they could or would do. We went from Alabama to Oklahoma and back and stayed in hotels over a couple of weeks. This was the most expensive and the most disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wshniwuzfshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark084, Public Relations Manager at Key West Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
At the time of check-in, this guest was told that there was only one non-smoking room available. The guest agreed as verified by management review of video. If the guest had complained of gnats or children, the hotel would have corrected the matter immediately as is our policy and guarantee.

Key West Inn of Hamilton is proud to have received a rare 99% inspection rating by the State of Alabama. We offer clean and secure rooms at a rate that is competitve with far lesser accomodations that are associated with the mega-franchises. All of our rooms are triple-inspected prior to welcoming a guest into them. Our goal is to provide a positive experience that the American traveler expects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guin
Holiday Inn Guin
#1 of 2 in Guin
101 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Winfield
Hampton Inn Winfield
#1 of 2 in Winfield
322 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#1 of 4 in Hamilton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hamilton Holiday Motel
Hamilton Holiday Motel
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
11 reviews
10.9 mi away
No photo provided
Relax Inn Guin
#2 of 2 in Guin
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn

Property: Key West Inn
Address: 224 River Road Dr, Hamilton, AL 35570-6887
Location: United States > Alabama > Hamilton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Key West Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Inn of Hamilton is a new 2008 property, nicest hotel for 100 miles at the same rate as the run-downs. We re the only hotel on US 78 / I-22 in a 150 miles span. Family owned by local folks with a good standing in the community. We offer spacious, clean rooms & wide parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Key West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing