We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Guntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our room faced the lake, so the view was beautiful. The hotel lobby was nicely decorated. The visitor's business section was private, but centrally located. Breakfast was off the menu and came with the room . It was a nice added bonus. The hotel also had a laundry room which we used. It came in very handy. The hotel has recently been upgraded, and was nicely done. We attend a family reunion in Alabama every July, and plan to stay there next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWLGUNTER, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us! It makes us so glad to read your great review because we are here to make your visit here a happy one!! We hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    104
    61
    33
    15
See reviews for
108
103
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. The staff was excellent. Beautiful place right on the water. You can sit outside of your room and eat or just watch the activity on the water. You can fish from the dock or park your boat. We had a little snafu and without going into details, I will say, that Annette the manager and Mike the maintenance guy went beyond the call of duty to help accommodate our needs. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommakirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWLGUNTER, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for the compliments!! We agree we have a beautiful property with many amenities to enjoy while you are here! Our team members are trained to make the customer happy. If you left happy, we succeeded in our job!! We hope you will call us soon to make a return visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALABAMA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very pleased to find this hotel last minute that was pet friendly with a king bed,non-smoking,lakeside view! We were a little concerned to see the whole room carpeted in a "pet-friendly" room. Kudos to the staff we did not notice any odors or stains! Our chief concern was ashtrays outside the non-smoking room on every patio table including ours. The poolside tables were all supplied with ashtrays as well. We are non-smokers and do have an allergy to the smoke, There were lots of people smoking on this Memorial Day weekend. We went to the pool one day but did not return partially due to cigarette smoke. The hotel was very clean and well-maintained. We did have one towel that had lingering odor of cigarette smoke( MAYBE I AM TOO SENSITIVE). All the staff seemed friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Lakeside was beautiful! There is a dock for boaters too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BUTTERFLYGIMMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWLGUNTER, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel!! We apologize for any circumstances that affected your allergies while staying here. As you had mentioned, pet-friendly rooms and smoking rooms can sometimes be a trigger that will cause a reaction to allergies. We thank you for your understanding and hope you will return soon! Please call me to make a reservation and I will try to get you as far away from any "trigger" rooms as possible! Thanks again, Shonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel was nice - nothing super fancy. We stayed on the lake side. They had a small table and two chairs on the outside of the rooms for you to sit at and watch the lake. We picked this hotel because we traveled with our two pugs, and they allowed pets for a fee.

However, we tried to return to the hotel on Saturday night, only to circle the lot 3 times because there was no parking. Apparently the karaoke at the bar is very popular, and so even though we had a "parking permit", there were no spaces to be had. We were directed to a gravel lot behind another building, and told it had cameras - it said no parking, and didn't have parking spaces, so we returned to the hotel, and were told that we could normally park along the edge of the gas station parking lot but it was full currently, or we could simply "wait until about 1:30am, when the bar closes, and there will be plenty of parking". (This was around 11:45pm) When we informed security that we were tired, and simply wanted to return to the room we had paid for, he told us to double park beside some of the other cars in the gas station parking, but leave room "so they can get out". We finally found one space in the gas station parking lot, on the other side from where they normally allow you to park. I woke up the next morning at 6:30am, and moved the car before the gas station opened.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy_K_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWLGUNTER, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I am very sorry about the problems you had with parking. We are a busy hotel and parking can become a issue sometimes on the weekend. My security did not handle the problem well and that is my fault. I will address this issue with him. I am truely sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel, located on Lake Guntersville, is nicely appointed for a renovated old Holiday Inn. The scenery is gorgeous and the staff was very friendly. The building is only a few yards off US Hwy 431 (a very busy, four lane highway) and it literally seems as if the traffic goes through your room. The noise prevents getting uninterrupted sleep. There were 4 people in our group (2 each in 2 rooms.) When our complimentary breakfast was served, one order was completely wrong and someone actually commented that the kitchen staff confused my order because it looked like I received a "crisp" omelet and undercooked bacon. At the time we ate, four other tables had patrons. The views from the restaurant were beautiful and the server was very apologetic about the slowness and inaccuracy of the kitchen.

Room Tip: Book early and request a room on the back side of the hotel as far away from the highway as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zapadapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWLGUNTER, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am very sorry about the problems you had with your breakfast order. It is very important that we get it right when you place your order. I hope you will give us a chance to make it right when you are in Guntersville, Alabama the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this hotel by ringing BW directly. Apparently this turns out that it is a call centre. I printed off my confirmation for a smoking room, lake front. On arrival at the hotel I was told that there was only one room that met this criteria and it was already occupied as my booking from the call centre only requested any room. What was the point in pre booking if information is not passed on. The receptionist was very apologetic but obviously could not give us the room requested. We did end up in a lake front room and went outside to smoke - which I thought would not be a problem as I assumed we would have a balcony. I think that the angle that the photo's on the website are very decptive as it looks as if the rooms do have private balconies from the angle they are taken. This is not so. It is an outside walkway with table and chairs in front of each room. I am very aware that not everyone likes smoke but anyone that went past had to walk between our room and the tables so no privacy in the room or at your outside seating. The room itself was a decent size with all the facilities that we required. It was clean and the view of the lake is lovely. BUT whereever you are there is undoubtedly road noise. Our second disappointment was when we enquired about the reataurant only to be told it didn't open on a Sunday as it was a "dry" state and people tended not to dine if they couldn't have a drink. Again there is no mention of this on the website. We did have breakfast the next morning in the adjoining restaurant and this was at best mediocre. On the plus side. I filled out a form and put it in the comments box. I then recieved an email from the manager apologising for our problems and offering to let us stay again, gratis. I don't suppose I will be going back to Lake Guntersville but it shows that the manager is concerned about complaints and displays a level of customer care. For this I thank you. One tip regarding Lake Guntersville - fill up with gas before you get here - prices are ridiculous, just a few miles away gas was 10 - 15c cheaper. I gave 3 stars for the location, nice room and the managers concern.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwaitang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWLGUNTER, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am very sorry about the problems you encountered during your stay. We only have 5 smoking rooms of which only two face the lake. This can cause some issued when a guest that smokes requests a lake side smoking room. We try to accommodate by placing the guest in a lake side room, because you can smoke outside you room currently in this City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guntersville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Guntersville
Hampton Inn Guntersville
#1 of 5 in Guntersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Albertville
10.7 mi away
Quality Inn Arab
Quality Inn Arab
#1 of 1 in Arab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Quality Inn Albertville
Quality Inn Albertville
#2 of 4 in Albertville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lake Guntersville Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Guntersville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville

Property: Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville
Address: 2140 Gunter Avenue, Guntersville, AL 35976-2114 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Lake Guntersville Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Guntersville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Guntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Breakfast to all Wyndham Reward Members! Ask our Guest Service Agent at check in about the reward program and the free breakfast each day of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Lake Guntersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guntersville
Guntersville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing