We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night with friends”
Review of Rock House Eatery

Rock House Eatery
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Guntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia beach, va
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great night with friends”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We came out because our friend Justin was going to be playing outdoor area. We started out inside at the bar. Mike behind the bar is amazing and knowledgeable, friendly, one of the best bar tenders I've had in a while.
We went outside when Justin's set started, and the staff is great, the food is great. We got the appetizers as our meal, but the beer is amazing, food is great. Overall would love I go back again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgriffith150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    60
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Union Grove, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rock House Eatery, Guntersville Al”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a ladies group for lunch. Service and food was excellent!! Loved their fried green beans
appetizer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We'd been planning dinner at another popular restaurant in town until the desk person at our hotel recommended the Rock House Eatery and we are SO glad that she did! The entire experience was wonderful, including the 25 minute wait for a table at the bar. The bartender was a font of information about the local area and also answered several questions I had about making drinks and different kinds of liquor. Our meal was grand. My husband and I each had a fish dish, his blackened and mine served with a garlic, butter, wine sauce. Both were delicious. My only regret is that we didn't have room for dessert. We will most like take another four hour drive to Guntersville solely to eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara2248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHVILLE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“NOT Over-rated! Genuinely Exceptional!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had to try the Rock House Eatery due to the TripAdvisor accolades, and this visit proved the value of checking TripAdvisor first!

The Rock House Eatery menu indicates they are famous for exceptional steaks, so my wife feasted on the 6 oz filet that we placed in a class of its own. Although we could compare tenderness with other restaurants, the flavor was altogether wonderful. However, the side dish choices made the Rock House even more special. Not many gourmet spots offer fresh vegetables and other delicious, healthy options. But here you can select from wild rice, garlic spinach, sweet potato slices, and stir fry veggies (among other options). David's Favorite Chicken also produced a combination of very complimentary flavors.

Although we could have dined at other nice Guntersville eateries, it will be hard for us not to return to the Rock House whenever we are close-by again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidDINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We wanted to go somewhere different for our 30th anniversary and decided to try this place. We ate at a table outside in the shade. We loved the food and the atmosphere. We ate lunch and had fried green tomatoes, fish tacos, steak sandwich, and we both had salads. It was all very tasty and we had great service. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bd3bmws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock House Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Rock House Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing