We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere”
Review of Rock House Eatery

Rock House Eatery
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Guntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good place to eat for lunch. The BLFGT sandwich with a side salad is really good. Service is great as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AUChickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    60
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsboro, Alabama
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

nice atmosphere and good food, ate here several times and never disappointed. Nice to get away from the chain restaurants. Worth repeating

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitelion5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crane Hill, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and friendly”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The restaurant is very quaint, with friendly staff. Service was fast and good. My husband got the "catch of the day" which was snapper. I got a few bites and wished I had ordered the same. I ordered the salmon, which we eat often from seafood markets. It tasted as though it had been frozen, was just okay. The side orders of asparagus were very small, portions could have been doubled easily and then some. We will dine again when in Guntersville.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guntersville's best!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've eaten at the Rock House Eatery multiple times as every time the food has been wonderful. There is truly something for everyone! The steaks just met in your mouth. This is a local gem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arab, Alabama
1 review
“A gem hidden in the rocks”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

When one drives up to The Rock House Eatery, ones sees a very beautiful renovated historic house that is yes, made of rocks. Upon entering one finds themselves in a cozy and warm environment that is as magical and charming as it is on the out. For me, some of the first things I noticed were the scattered pieces of art work professing green statements such as, conserve water and recycle, reduce, reuse. As a lover of the environment, this just upped the restaurant on the cool scale a few more notches. However, not all restaurants practice what they preach—not so the case here. The Rock house does take steps to promote local growers and uses measures to help limit its foot print here on our sweet planet. So it got two big thumbs up from me right there. But in addition to great ethical and environmental practices the food is wonderful, creative and also holds a lovely touch of southern charm. The wait staff is professional yet very personable. The owner/ manager Bo Duncan is just as charming as the restaurant itself. One immediately feels right at home here and can see why it’s a staple among local Guntersvillians. If in the neighborhood on a Thursday night, The Rock House offers live music outside which makes for a truly delightful dinner. It’s a place not to be missed and is definitely one that really captures the essence of community, family and friends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollye f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock House Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Rock House Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing