We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Coast, MS
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Could be Better”
Reviewed April 13, 2006

We stayed at the Best Western on the Beach for two nights.I was very disappointed in the welcome or greeting we received when we first arrived. Upon check in I explained I had a reservation and was only asked for my credit card. The only thing that was given was directions to get to our room and parking rules. No information regarding the hotel amenities. The room looked much like an other economy room but with an magnificent gulf front view with balcony. The bathroom needed attention as well as other minor houskeeping details. The beach was lovely. The pool was okay and primarily geared to children as the only area of the pool that is deep enough to swim (5 ft.)is under the rock waterfall that by the way was not functioning. No breakfast is offered but the Island Pancake House in the hotel offers a 25% discount to hotel guests. Be prepared and aware that this hotel doesn't offer pool or beach towels. No hotel guides, stationary or any information were provided in the rooms. I had to request a local phonebook for the room. It reminded us of a bargain self catering resort and should be advertised as such. The best thing about the hotel is the beach.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Treasuretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    283
    140
    92
    74
See reviews for
496
365
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2006

I traveled here for the 1st time with my 3 children, we found the place to be average with an above average view of the beach. We stayed in the low-rise building on the 3rd floor, which had a remarkable view of the beach and I could see the kids while they visited the beach (they didn't appear as small dots, if I spoke to them they could hear me if necessary). The room was cleaned daily, the room was spacious with 2 full beds and could hold my personal air bed. The room had a nice sized fridge, small sink for dishes, dishes & eating utensils for 3-4 people, a large microwave, pots, pans and cooking utensils. Our bathroom was a nice size, but one must get use to the shower head. We found alot of activities for adults and the kids within 1-5 miles from the hotel. The indoor pool and hot tub were in working order, the outside hot tub did not work, but the outside pool did; they were both full with clean water, BUT who needs that when behind you the sandy beach was less than 1 foot away. There is alot of construction going on, but did't disturb our restful nights, beds were clean and average in comfort. Will return soon!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2006

My family visited Gulf Shores over Thanksgiving and stayed at a cottage owned by Best Western. If you look at the Best Western on the Beach website (not the National Chain website) you can see pictures of this 3 bedroom cottage. It's not on the hotel property, it's about .25 miles away from the hotel.

This cottage was VERY affordable, and the perfect place for our family. Since we went in November, we didn't spend a lot of time on the beach. The cottage is across the main road from the beach and set back a bit. It's about a 5 minute walk to the beach. Too far to be running back and forth from the cottage to the beach, but definitely close enough to walk to the beach to spend some time.

The cottage itself was very clean and functional. Not the Ritz, but more than adequate. I also had good luck with the desk staff. I called a few times before we went and asked lots of questions about the cottage and they were very nice and patient with me.

I would recommend this cottage to someone who wants to be near all of the main attractions of Gulf Shores, but is not having a totally beach centered vacation.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank *kara*intn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 24, 2004

WE payed in full upon arrival, but when we went to check out we were charged an additional $21.00, the lady at the front desk said that the lady that checked us in didn't charge us enough. Sounds like a rip off to me. Will not stay at this hotel again.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
203 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2004

This place has been around for many years, but has been very well kept. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and have excellent views from their directly oceanfront private balconies. The kids will love the beachside cascading waterfall pool! There is a restaurant on-site and the staff is great. This place has become a landmark in Gulf Shores. I would recommend it!

Helpful?
11 Thank deskclerk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central arkansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2004

We stayed at the Best Western on the Beach a couple of years ago. We were all excited about going to Gulf Shores, as this was our first trip to the beach. When we opened the door to our room, our spirits dropped.
The room looked much like an economy room, and for the price we paid we were expecting something else. The bathroom had mold around the floor, and the lock on the door had recently been broken into. The fire alarm awoke us in the middle of the night , and everyone was up looking out into the hall. The beach was lovely, and the pool was just okay. We since have stayed at condos rented by real estate agents at about the same price, with all the amenities. You get a much better bargain, and a much nicer atmosphere.

Helpful?
11 Thank nannax7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2004

We just returned from a two night stay. The Hotel has been renovated.
It is clean and the staff is very nice. The gulf view is perfect. The rooms have a full kitchen and private balcony. The walk in rate for the off seasons was most resonable. The on site Denny's has an ocean veiw and is great for breakfast. The hotel has both an indoor and outdoor pool.

Helpful?
10 Thank GlenwoodMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
2.9 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Property: Best Western On The Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing