We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely convenient & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely convenient & comfortable”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We decided at the last minute to visit the Gulf for the July 4th holiday. This was the only vacancy we found. Perfect location! Rooms were definitely overpriced for what you get (on the 4th it cost more) but it's extremely convenient with comfortable beds. You can walk to the Hangout, The Steamer, and souvenir shops. It's great having the restaurant their for breakfast and lunch within steps of your room. Food was really good but some of the wait staff wasn't very attentive. Our beach umbrella attendant (not affiliated with the hotel) was extremely attentive in keeping us in the shade! LOL Overall great location, friendly staff, maids were great (always had room clean upon our return from breakfast) and comfortable beds. Small unit so no crowding on the beach in front of the hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    286
    146
    93
    77
See reviews for
511
371
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

It is on the beach but it seems like it has had a cosmetic makeover. I think more work could be done to make this hotel worth the price they charge. The indoor pool was hotter then the outside temperature, due to no circulation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank vacationjunkieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eunice, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel was very accommodating. It is located close to attractions such as the water park, shopping, and other things. Most importantly it is right on the beach. There is also a great staff. We've stayed there before and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Winchester, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel has so much potential. But due to neglect and staff that do only the bare minimum of their jobs my stay was stressful. They need to retrain housekeeping. Do an overhaul on customer service for the "Pancake House". Food was okay but service was so bad and pricing high it was not worth it. The room beach side was updated and pretty. However with housekeeping only doing a partial job it was less than stellar. The street side was scary. You had to force the door shut and it would not allow me to bolt it. Was locked via the chain only. The internet was a nightmare. Then there was the broken TV.. I hope they can get some staff in there that cares and actually does the job they were hired for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was very happy with our stay, other than the fact that we could only stay one night because of the inflated summer pricing. Staff was helpful, beds were heavenly, and loved having an oceanfront balcony.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank elisia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our first visit to Gulf Shores and we loved it! Beautiful beach, family friendly met with smiles everywhere we went in town. The Best Western was very clean, very helpful staff, right on the beach. We had a beautiful view from our balcony. I would highly recommend to anyone thinking about a beach vacation.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are worth it if you enjoy sitting and just watching the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loucindy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel room is nice, and beds are very comfortable. One issue is the balcony light does not go off and the light from it made it seem like it was daylight out every time I woke up and looked toward the balcony door. The mini fridge is MINI and does not hold much but did work great. The view on Oceanside was great. The walk down to the beach not too bad. They only have one floor for smokers and you can't even smoke on the balconies on the lower floors. They do provide a nice, breezy smoking area with chairs and a partial view of the beach. Heather at the front desk was great as was all the other staff we interacted with. Small hotel which also made for a pleasant experience. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, ask for the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Property: Best Western On The Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing