We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Willow Park, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Staff”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff at the hotel was rude and not helpful at all. The hot tub room was shut off to guest and we weren't allowed to use it even after we paid as much as we did for the room. I have asked for management to call me, but its obvious they don't care. One staff member had been drinking when dealing with guest because he was supposedly called in on his day off. In one word Unprofessional. The best thing this hotel has going for it the view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback. We thank you for your patronage and your three night getaway with us! I do apologize that the hot tub was closed when you intended to use it, however it is for safety reasons and regulations we do have to close the indoor pool area once our security guard has left for the evening (10pm). This I am sure you can understand is for your safety and protection, thank you again for choosing Best Western on the Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    286
    146
    94
    77
See reviews for
513
371
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Four night get away weekend for my wife and I - the Best Western on the Beach is a great little hotel located within walking distance to all the great spots along the Gulf Shores coast. The accommodations were exactly what we needed for our stay. The staff was extremely helpful with our every request. I would certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RICK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for all of you positive and much appreciated feedback! Certainly one of my favorite things to hear from our guests is that the staff was all friendly and helpful, we are here to help you enjoy your stay in any way we can, and I am thrilled we were able to achieve that for you! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clawson, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel has a great location, beautiful view of the ocean. We stayed over two weeks so got to know the entire front desk staff, also housekeeping, and evening maintenance person. All of them were so friendly, caring, and helpful when looking for things to do in the area. Our room was beautiful and so very clean! Beds comfortable, only negative, wished hot tub could have been a little warmer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! We are thrilled to have had you as our guest for such an extended period of time! Our number one goal is to exceed guest expectations and am so happy we were able to achieve that for you. We do have regulations on how hot we are able to keep our indoor jacuzzi at during the summertime that is regularly and daily maintained by our pool professionals. Thank you again and we certainly hope to have the pleasure of your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

After I booked the hotel I read the most recent reviews and I was a little worried but we made it here and I have to say I am very pleased! The room smelled like a pineapple when we entered which was great! Bed was very comfortable and everything worked great in the room!
Two problems is that one...most of the staff was not friendly. We met a few that was really nice but the rest couldn't give you the time of day and two...the indoor pool had way too much chlorine!! Gave us a headache just in there a few mins.
I would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aprilmm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killen, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel was clean and rooms were nice. Several restaurants and stores within walking distance with beautiful view of the Gulf from Ocean View room. Staff was friendly and Hotel restaurant served an awesome breakfast although a touch pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for all of your positive feedback!! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were put in room 121. The room looked as if it was a closet at some point. The room was in horrible shape. The electrical outlets were broken, the ceiling tiles were not in place, no quarter round in the room, the sliding glass door track was filthy with dirt and dead bugs. There were also white patches all of the walls where they has patched holes but not painted. I have plenty of pictures of the room if anyone is interested. The part that bothered me the most is we were told it was their "honeymoon room" and it was over $200 a night. We have asked for an email address from Best Western to submit the pictures we have but no one at Best Western has provided the information or even responded to my email.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
7 Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trussville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Rooms were clean, but had a very unusual smell. We were close to the venue. Several restaurants to choose form in close proximity. I will most likely stay there again. The kids absolutely loved the large pool. good internet reception. so I was also able to work online.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Property: Best Western On The Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing