We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Value on the Beach”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice quality stay right on the beach. Rooms do need updated, but they are clean and well kept. The location and price of this hotel make it worth the stay. Do be aware though that the chairs and umbrellas on the beach are for rent and are not complementary for the guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingOSUCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your very appriciated feedback! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We are currently updating all of our furniture and so we hope we have the pleasure of your return to enjoy all of our hard work! Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    286
    146
    94
    77
See reviews for
513
371
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is quiet, clean, and reasonably priced. Great views of the gulf, easy beach access. In the heart of things. Restaurant has good food at good price. We will stay here again. The staff is very friendly but not intrusive. Rooms are clean. Fridge was so cold almost everything froze.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank JSD4068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for all of your positive feedback! Nothing makes us happier than to hear a guest say that our staff was friendly and inviting! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we have the pleasure of your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I decided to treat myself to a road trip to the beautiful Gulf Shores, Alabama. I did not call or make reservations, so I took a chance on getting a good room on the beach. I called a few places when I arrived & I'm VERY glad I chose this hotel!!! True southern hospitality from the front desk, courteous & generous maid service, perfect view from 5th floor, & a great restaurant in the hotel!!! (See my other review for that.) I love this place & would definitely stay here again! The rates were better here than the other places I called, PLUS the awesome lady named Stephanie gave me a 10% discount for choosing Best Western! I couldn't be happier! ;) Check out my photos....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BamaSnowGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much! Our goal is to exceed guest expectations and I am so thrilled to hear we were able to achieve that for you! We do certainly try to strive with southern hospitality and pleasing our guests as our motto, Thank you again for all of your kind words and we certainly hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanton, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place to stay on the beach. We have two children and they loved the indoor pool! The decorations are a little out of date but the room and lobby were very clean and nice. The staff were very friendly and we had great service! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for all of your positive feedback! We have returning guests all the time who sing the same praises of their little ones loving our indoor heated pool! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not many places to stay in gulf shores that are not condos. Hotel was nice, not a ton of kids everywhere. It was a peaceful and relaxing stay. Only thing we wished they had served free breakfast and that our balcony light would have worked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope for the pleasure of your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Beds were very comfortable and room was clean, room had a chemical odor and bathroom was tiny. Went labor day, rooms the week before were $170, went up to $239 by sat and on sun were $279-pretty greedy. You can rent a nice condo for that price. Island of pancake breakfast was good but it cost more than our dinner the night before-$10 for 3 pancakes and 3 pices of bacon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

As the title accurately states, I never made it past the hotel's front desk for a reservation. Being one who travels extensively, I accumulate many points with various loyalty programs, as well as receive free nights via some promotion or another. Recently, I attempted to use a free night voucher for one night and points for another night, for just a brief stay at this hotel (Thursday and Friday night to be exact). I had already been warned by other colleagues that the property was not traveler friendly, to the extent of accommodating those who want to customize their stay by using points on certain days. I had also been previously informed that they REQUIRED a two (2) night minimum stay. No problem... right??? I had the two nights covered with no out-of-pocket expense for the room due to the points/voucher being used. Apparently not! The hotel informs me that the use of points and voucher requires that it be entered as separate stays and thus does not meet the two (2) night minimum. In addition, they would require me to stay (and pay) for Saturday night to meet the requirement...and at a very overrated $190.00 cost for that night at that! The hotel looks rather lacking anyway and certainly not worth the aggravation, nor the cost of a room. There is a much nicer hotel close to this one that I've already booked instead. I should note that the Best Western Central Reservation folks were great and tried to help. This was the hotel itself that was not willing to get it together. Sorry, but I will ensure you that I will not EVER have any of my employees (whose numbers are in the hundreds) stay at that hotel. Likewise, my friends who may be traveling in the area will be advised to stay elsewhere. The management and/or owner needs to reevaluate the direction that they want their property to go in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lawinthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Property: Best Western On The Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing