We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice before staying here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights because it was one of the higher rated places on trip advisor and I was so disappointed! We were in room 312 in the East tower and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Our room was next to the ice machine which dropped ice whether anyone was using it or not. All night we could hear ice crashing onto the drain! This hotel is so outdated from the furnishings to the tiny, dirty swimming pool with the non-working monstrous rock waterfall. The jacuzzi in the room was so filthy from age that it was also an eyesore in the room! The bathroom was so small it did not even have a toilet paper bar/holder in it. None of the nightstand or cabinet drawers had rollers on them so they just fell out when opening. All exterior doors were left unlocked and the one at the end of the hall next to our room would not even close all the way which was a security concern. The entry to the beach walkway had 1 to 2 inches of water standing in it constantly from the poor shower drainage. All entryways to exterior doors were filthy. The indoor pool area was also very dirty as well as the bathrooms in that area. I could go on and on with many items and reasons we cannot recommend this hotel and will not stay here again. The 2 positive points: comfortable bed and on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for all of your feedback! Our goal is to exceed guest expectations and are working hard to improve on every bulleted point you brought to our attention, thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

A perfect location right on the beach. The room was clean and comfortable and the view from the balcony was priceless. The front desk staff were very accommodating and there is lots to do near by. The cons are, it is dated, very hard to make sure door was locked and had to slam door to insure it was latched. Waterfall over pool area not working made it seem more rundown. It has an odd set up and you had to go out a side door through a parking lot to access the beach. Also I made reservation over the phone but was never offered a kitchenette which I would of gladly taken since I was traveling with children and did not even know they were a available. I reserved months in advance and stayed mid-week so I am sure they were not just booked up. I agree that the cost of the room is not reflective of what is offered. Will defiantly shop around more before returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for all of your feedback! I'm so glad you enjoyed your room, and your certainly right the view from our balconies is priceless! We are currently having an architect look into completely renovating our pool area with regards to the waterfall, your feedback there is appreciated and just know we are looking into it. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of your return and would love to get you into our beachfront kitchenette in comparison to our beachfront standard at no additional cost. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was a spur of the moment trip. We have stayed here before and so decided we would see if there were any vacancies ... yes, they had a few rooms left ... we could walk out on the balcony and get a beautiful view of the beach & the water. Love the fact that we were right on the beach. The staff was very friendly & helpful, our room was clean & comfortable. The rooms do need updating, but you are not going to spend that much time in them anyway with the beach right at your door. Room rates a bit high for the accommodations, but you pay for being right on the beach. Did not eat at the Pancake House, but they were very accommodating each morning when I got my coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for all of your positive feedback! Our goal is to exceed guest expectations and am so glad we were able to accomplish that for you. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took the kids to Gulf Shores this year instead of FL. Turns out we all actually like the beaches of Gulf Shores better!
This Best Western is right on the beach, much like the condos in the area. It was priced accordingly too. The lobby has been nicely updated and there are about 10 parking spaces under the building to provide shade for those that are looking for it (and quick enough to get a space).
We stayed on the 2nd floor on the older side of the building in a kitchenette which was ok. This consisted of two queen beds that were very comfortable even to the kids. We had a table for two, a very small sink, two burner electric stove, and small fridge/freezer combo. The fridge was a dorm sized one but also had a freezer for the top section allowing for a few frozen items. It actually worked for us for this 4 day trip.
The housekeeping service was very friendly and kept us stocked up on towels as we came and went from the beach to the outdoor pool to the indoor pool. Cleanliness of the room was decent but the dishes that were left in the cabinets weren't put away clean. I doubt that is the responsibility of the housekeeping staff, but FYI. I left them clean for the next guest event though they'll likely wash them again...
We didn't try the Island Pancake Restaurant in the hotel so I can't confirm or deny the other reviews on here.
The beach was awesome and BW has a nice hotel in a perfect location. We were able to park and walk into town either via the beach or the bike path on the road out front. Orange Beach is a short 15 minute drive too if that interests you.
I really wish they would fix the outdoor pool's waterfall. That would have been awesome for me and the kids to enjoy during our stay.
We would stay here again but next time will inquire about more discounts to offset the higher price for this ideal location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandnSun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback! I am so glad to here that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our beautiful beachfront location and the pleasure of hosting the only hotel rooms that directly overlook Gulf Shores sugary white beaches keeps guests coming back year after year and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it as well. We are currently working with an architect to renovate our outdoor pool area with regards to the waterfall, and so I certainly hope we have the pleasure of your return so you and your family can enjoy once again. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I drove to Gulf Shores as a last minute trip. We were able to get a room for the night on the beach. The desk clerk was very nice. Walking distance to shops and food. The room was clean and even though it was a limited view of the beach it was still nice.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dyna52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! I'm so glad we were able to exceed your expectations during your last minute reservation. Spontaneous vacations always seem to be the best! We hope to have the pleasure of your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First off their rates change daily. Depends on what the "general manager" wants to charge. Second they painted the wall, and had no wet paint signs. Ruined my t-shirt and a hand made baby blanket. Then just tried to wash it for us. $25 t-shirt+$75baby blanket= $100. Their solution for compensation was $27.50 off the the already over charged room rate. Will never stay there again and DO NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Douglas3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Have stayed here twice now, with the most recent last week. Prices for this hotel are too high for the amenities lacking. Shower/tub had issues and ice maker by the door was loud ALL night. BUT the proximity to the ocean and nightlife is wonderful. My child enjoyed the outdoor pool but not the indoor, too crowded usually. Bed was good this time, not the first though so glad to see they are trying to upgrade somewhat. Helpful service desk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for all of your feedback! We strive for customer satisfaction and always working to improve our guests vacation experiance. We appreciate and value all of your feedback and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $100 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing