We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Coushatta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love the view”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was a spur of the moment trip. We have stayed here before and so decided we would see if there were any vacancies ... yes, they had a few rooms left ... we could walk out on the balcony and get a beautiful view of the beach & the water. Love the fact that we were right on the beach. The staff was very friendly & helpful, our room was clean & comfortable. The rooms do need updating, but you are not going to spend that much time in them anyway with the beach right at your door. Room rates a bit high for the accommodations, but you pay for being right on the beach. Did not eat at the Pancake House, but they were very accommodating each morning when I got my coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for all of your positive feedback! Our goal is to exceed guest expectations and am so glad we were able to accomplish that for you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    284
    141
    92
    75
See reviews for
499
368
39
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dickson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took the kids to Gulf Shores this year instead of FL. Turns out we all actually like the beaches of Gulf Shores better!
This Best Western is right on the beach, much like the condos in the area. It was priced accordingly too. The lobby has been nicely updated and there are about 10 parking spaces under the building to provide shade for those that are looking for it (and quick enough to get a space).
We stayed on the 2nd floor on the older side of the building in a kitchenette which was ok. This consisted of two queen beds that were very comfortable even to the kids. We had a table for two, a very small sink, two burner electric stove, and small fridge/freezer combo. The fridge was a dorm sized one but also had a freezer for the top section allowing for a few frozen items. It actually worked for us for this 4 day trip.
The housekeeping service was very friendly and kept us stocked up on towels as we came and went from the beach to the outdoor pool to the indoor pool. Cleanliness of the room was decent but the dishes that were left in the cabinets weren't put away clean. I doubt that is the responsibility of the housekeeping staff, but FYI. I left them clean for the next guest event though they'll likely wash them again...
We didn't try the Island Pancake Restaurant in the hotel so I can't confirm or deny the other reviews on here.
The beach was awesome and BW has a nice hotel in a perfect location. We were able to park and walk into town either via the beach or the bike path on the road out front. Orange Beach is a short 15 minute drive too if that interests you.
I really wish they would fix the outdoor pool's waterfall. That would have been awesome for me and the kids to enjoy during our stay.
We would stay here again but next time will inquire about more discounts to offset the higher price for this ideal location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandnSun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback! I am so glad to here that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our beautiful beachfront location and the pleasure of hosting the only hotel rooms that directly overlook Gulf Shores sugary white beaches keeps guests coming back year after year and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it as well. We are currently working with an architect to renovate our outdoor pool area with regards to the waterfall, and so I certainly hope we have the pleasure of your return so you and your family can enjoy once again. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I drove to Gulf Shores as a last minute trip. We were able to get a room for the night on the beach. The desk clerk was very nice. Walking distance to shops and food. The room was clean and even though it was a limited view of the beach it was still nice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyna52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I'm so glad we were able to exceed your expectations during your last minute reservation. Spontaneous vacations always seem to be the best! We hope to have the pleasure of your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First off their rates change daily. Depends on what the "general manager" wants to charge. Second they painted the wall, and had no wet paint signs. Ruined my t-shirt and a hand made baby blanket. Then just tried to wash it for us. $25 t-shirt+$75baby blanket= $100. Their solution for compensation was $27.50 off the the already over charged room rate. Will never stay there again and DO NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Douglas3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Have stayed here twice now, with the most recent last week. Prices for this hotel are too high for the amenities lacking. Shower/tub had issues and ice maker by the door was loud ALL night. BUT the proximity to the ocean and nightlife is wonderful. My child enjoyed the outdoor pool but not the indoor, too crowded usually. Bed was good this time, not the first though so glad to see they are trying to upgrade somewhat. Helpful service desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! We strive for customer satisfaction and always working to improve our guests vacation experiance. We appreciate and value all of your feedback and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston, Ga
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family stayed for two nights here for a short beach trip with the kids. We loved the fact that they had multiple pools to choose from and that the hotel was directly on the beach. There is plenty to do right around the hotel. Shopping, attractions, eating. The attendants in the lobby were so helpful as well and offered us suggestions of things we could do that would best fit our family's interest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! I am so glad that we were able to satisfy all of your vacation needs! We believe in personalized customer service, guest satisfaction is our number one goal! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

These people stole $329.00 from me. The reservation agent made the reservation for the wrong dates and charged me for her mistake. After admitting their mistake to not only me but my attorney as well they still kept the money. They did nothing to resolve the situation. So I paid for a hotel room I never stepped foot in. Do not stay at this hotel because obviously the customer does not come first. They steal your money without explanation!! The General Manager/Owner has yet to contact me and he refused my phone calls.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
First and foremost thank you for your reservation with us we certainly wished we would have had the pleasure of your patronage! Unfortunately it is our policy to charge the first night for reservations past our cancellation time frame (48 hours notice) Our front desk agent did not make a mistake in booking your reservation, the reservation was talked over, verified, and emailed in confirmation form. Our General Manager was/is still eager to go over any questions you may still have regarding your reservation, however since you contacted Best Western Customer Care and specifically asked to not be contacted by our General Manager it is per your request. If you would like for him to go over this with you feel free to contact us any time! Once again it is unfortunate that you were unable to stay with us, for if you did I am sure that you would have enjoyed your stay with us as so many of our guests do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Property: Best Western On The Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing