We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gulf Shores in January!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the beach this past weekend and it was amazing!!! I got plenty of rest. The service was wonderful, I recommend staying this hotel to anyone coming to the coast. The sands are beautiful and the weather was crazy awesome!!!!!
If you want seafood there is no place like Gulf Shores!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherriSteadham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for all of your feedback! Gulf Shores certainly is the gulf coasts hidden gem, we are so happy our fabulous hotel is centrally located in the heart of this beautiful city surrounded by white sands, bright blue water, clear skies and great food! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to exceed your expectations!
Megan Thompson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

On January 11, 2013 we spent two nites at this hotel. Two adults-$207.54 was the bill. Had great view of the Gulf and beach. This hotel while being a little older was one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in... The housekeeping staff is very diligent and they do a great job. Ate supper at Cottons (steakhouse) one night and Oyster House the other- Both are close and had great food. If you like coffee you will love the Island Pancake House (attached to the hotel. The USS Alabama is about a half hour away and it is an awesome Ship...Be prepared to climb stairs- a lot of stairs....But you will love the hotel and found some neat shells on the beach!!!
Book It--You won't be disappointed
Bob from Wisconsin and Florida- badgers4u2@yahoo.com

Room Tip: It is more expensive but the Gulf view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badgers4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you very much for all of your positive feedback! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to exceed your expectations! That Gulf view certainly is worth it, and I hope we have the pleasure of your return to enjoy that view once again!
Megan Thompson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here from Dec. 5-9 due to location, pancake house....price. The beach and lobby are tops! We have frequented the pancake house for years and it really is good pancakes. That's about all the greatness. Rooms were clean and maid service was good and all very friendly but the rooms were so dated and old. Beds were good , they were new and very comfortable ! My opinion. Anything over $75 per night is to high for the rooms. Yes,I would stay again - if the rooms aren't even important, The third night a family checked in next door and we could hear every word!, Not good!

Room Tip: Beach side a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for all of your positive feedback! We are very happy to hear that our location, price, in-house restaurant, beds, and beautiful beach view exceeded your expectations. We are constantly updating and improving our hotel so we certainly hope to have you back with us again soon!
Megan Thompson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Loved this clean place right on the ocean. Although it was Jan we enjoyed the beach some. Good location. I got a great price from the web only site that was killer.Rooms and beds were huge. Nice balconys . Indoor pool and two hot tubs. Desk service was also very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you so much for all of your positive feedback! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to have you back again soon!
Megan Thompson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Perfect weekend getaway spot. We had a very peaceful weekend. Loved hearing the ocean. Small bathroom but the beds were very comfortable. Convenient location close to The Hangout, and the outlet mall in Foley.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a lovely peaceful beach vacation and we were able to exceed your expectations. Absolutely nothing better than the sound of the waves as you sit on your oceanfront balcony. We certainly hope to have you back soon to enjoy once again!
Megan Thompson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! The location could not be any better, it's close to everything. You have Sea and Suds to your left and The Pink Pony Pub and The Hangout within walking distance as well. The rooms are super clean and the staff was great as well. We will be back in the summer when we can enjoy the pool and beach!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mbracey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay, we are so thrilled to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! We hear all the time from our guests how nice it is, the convenience of our location, to all of the main area attractions. Just walk off the elevator from your room and you are on the beach directly in the heart of beautiful Gulf Shores. Our housekeeping and front desk staff certainly work hard to ensure that each of our guest enjoys their stay with us, and I am happy to hear that we were able to achieve that goal for you. From all of us here at the Best Western on the Beach, thank you. And we hope to have you again soon.
Megan Thompson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here 01-01-2013 thru 01-03-2013. The hotel is right on the beach. Although the beach is being refurbished right now, my kids and I enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The room was average. All of the ice machines were empty when I went to get ice at 11pm. The check-in was quick and easy( I had made reservations on-line). The room rate was excellent. The restaurant "The Pancake House" is wonderful. There is no complimentary breakfast available at this hotel. Our room had a kitchenette(with utensils) and a full-sized refridgerator. The location is right off HWY 59 intersection with the beach. There is a HUGE outlet mall about 15 minutes away. My daughters and I shopped til we dropped. There is also an excellent restaurant "Lambert's" the home of throwed rolls.

Room Tip: There are several rooms with balconies. I suggest getting the beachview with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at Best Western On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for all of your positive feedback! I am thrilled to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! Certainly add together the bargain price, fast and friendly check-in, delicious in-house restaurant, convenience in location, and beautiful oceanfront rooms you are sure for a fabulous beach getaway vacation! Thank you again for your patronage and we hope to have you again soon!
Megan Thompson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $72 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing