We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“krista W”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JESSE M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

The beach and location is 5 star as is the pancakes....the rooms are a 3 but if u are coming for the beach and only to sleep when necessary then all will be fine. The rooms had really comfy beds, a full size frig and small stove. Very, very dated but adequate. The beach is as perfect as can be and location is excellent. So, if u can get this as at a deal..it's a deal. If not such a deal ,might want condo. I would stay again for a good deal. Another thing...very thin walls so hope your neighbors are quiet.... Gulf view a must or you'll go crazy .

Room Tip: Got to have beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jus4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

You can't beat the rates at the end of Nov. I was pleasantly surprised that this was a pretty nice place to stay at the beach! Great oceanview room at $62 that was clean, smelled nice, and had nice linens and comfortable beds. The street view rooms were $45. They also have the "Clean" TV remotes, which is nice. The walls (at least on the side I stayed) are thick, so I didn't hear the 3 kids next door. The shower was good. The staff was very friendly- say hey to Tammy at the front desk. They moved me immediately when I complained of a loud buzzing noise through my room's wall (which was the sound of the pool's pump on the other side). They offered me a 25% at the restaurant during my weekend stay due to the inconvenience (great sweet potato pancakes). You can also get that discount during the week at the restaurant (which serves breakfast and lunch) if you show your room key. All the rooms have nice balconies, flat screen TVs, microwaves, and frigs. Ask to stay on the East side of the hotel if you don't want a room overlooking the pool because all the rooms on the west side overlook the pool, which might be annoying in warmer weather. I saw rooms on both sides, and both were clean and nice. If you're used to high end, up-scale places you'll be disappointed; if you're thinking this is a little on the budget end, you'll be happy you came!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drkathy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Our check in was quick. Room was well cleaned. Plenty of towels. The staff was very friendly. Only complaint was walls are thin. Especially if you have loud neighbors.. The balcony was nice complete with chairs.. We will be back

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The first room we got smelled awful so we asked to move, there was a trash bag outside in the hall and the ice machine smelled like mold. No toilet paper holder in the bathroom, could be replaced cheaply. Scum on one hot tub and when you pushed the button on the other one your finget went right through, no button to push. Staff was accomodating about changing our room but not with a pleasant attitude. We had planned to stay 2 nights but cancelled our second night to search for more pleasant surrounding. Overheard workers that were going around with spray paint cans trying to mask the flaws in the rooms say : "These rooms are terrible". View was nice from the balacony and beds were comfortable but would never stay here again.

Room Tip: great views if you get on the gulf side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend and I just recently stayed last weekend and really were amazed with the room we got. The ease of internet use was a plus. Not only did we get a small kitchenette there was a good size refrigerator in it to. The balcony was real nice facing the beach, and loved hearing the sea gulls serenade us every day. I loved the large TV that came with the room, but the best thing I can say was when we laid down on the beds it was like sleeping on a marshmallow cloud. We both said that we wish we could take the beds home with us. Everyone there was very attentive to all our needs, and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa-Messina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 wonderful days at the Best Western in Gulf Shores, AL. The rooms had just been refurbished and were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had an excellent view with a balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The beds were the most comfortable I have slept on in a hotel in a long time. The service was excellent and the people very friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to spending more time there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Gulf are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
365 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $95 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing