We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re: the condo rental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I visited with friends in December. This condo is owned by the hotel owner and is rented on a daily or weekly basis. The condo was clean and well-stocked. The furnishing were relatively new and the kitchen was clean. The View? Excellent! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Have to pick up the keys and pay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 for the weekend. The location is great. We had a street view room. The room served all of our needs. Tiny bathroom. Room looked like it had recently been painted. Beds were very comfortable. Friendly staff. It was a great value and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenjen607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

To begin with, this is a Christian-owned hotel. It's not a party destination. That said, if you're traveling with the kids and want an over-night stay on the beach and a swim, this is a good place to stay. I've stayed here many times over the years. It's prices are good during the season and very affordable off season. The rooms are serviceable and clean, though not sumptuous. The balconies on the beach are nice. The Island Pancake House is on the bottom floor and the entire south wall is glass facing the beach. The food is similar to Denny's (which the restaurant used to be) and the waitresses are usually immigrants from Russia who are here on guest worker visas. They are always super-nice and very attentive. If you've got kids and you're traveling on a budget, go for it. This is a good place to chill for a night or a couple of nights on the beach. The indoor swimming pool is so-so. The water is clean, but it's a little tepid, though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thecowboylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My family and I reside just an hour away from Gulf Shores and I decided to surprise my girls and mother for a girls weekend at the beach while my husband was out of town. We could not have been happier with our choice to stay at the Best Western. When we first drove in, we stopped at the Hilton down the road and after deciding that they and two other hotels closeby were either too expensive or too far away from the T at Highway 59 ,which I consider to be the 'Heart' of Gulf Shores. We stumbled upon the Best Western - and it was a breath of fresh air. The desk clerks were just a delight. They offered the lowest price all day and even assisted my elderly mother locate beach wheelchair rentals. My girls fell in love with the breakfast at the Pancake House and my mother and I absolutely loved the view of the ocean from the balcony. All in all, this is a definite 'do over,' and I highly recommend others to visit the Best Western on the Beach!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The last week of September, 2011, my wife and I traveled from Louisville, Kentucky to Gulf Shores, Alabama for a few days of relaxation and good food. Having been born and raised on the Gulf Coast, we both miss the particular culture and natural beauty of the region and enjoy returning from time to time.

From their website, which is well-done and accurate, we selected the Best Western on the Beach for our lodging. Reading some of the Tripadviosr reviews we were a bit apprehensive but after speaking with relatives in the area before reserving our room, some of our concerns were assuaged. This property has been in the process of upgrading for some time and the troubling issues cited in the reviews have been addressed in most of the units. It should also be noted that hotel accommoations on the beach are rare, as most sites are condominiums, many privately owned units not available for rent.

Upon arrival, we were impressed with the courtesy of the desk clerk and her successful efforts to secure our room about one hour earlier than the stated check-in time. We found the room to be recently renovated, evidence of fresh paint work everywhere and, on the ceilings and walls, apparent work resulting in slightly mismatched surface textures. The room was simple in decor, almost austere, but clean, comfortable, and spacious in the sleeping/kitchenette area, though slightly less commodious in the bath. By hotel standards the water pressure in the shower was adequate and the bathroom was clean; otherwise it was small and not laid out in the fashion we come to expect in hotels. All in all, the bathroom was cramped but sufficient for one occupant at a time. The kitchenette was equipped with what appeared to be new cabinets and fixtures. This area was equipped with a fridge, a microwave, a stainless steel sink, stovetop burners, and a coffeemaker. There was more than enough cabinet and counter space for suitably meeting the needs of guests staying briefly and primarily eating out. The provided silverware and dinnerware were also more than adequate for at least two guests and additional pieces may be obtained from housekeeping as needed. The bed was comfortable with crisp sheets and generous pillows. Desk space and drawer space was as one might expect in a typical chain operation. The real treat was the access to a private balcony through a door at the end of the room opposite the entrance to the room. From this balcony, my wife and I enjoyed spectacular views of the waves, the sky, gulls, sugar sand beaches, and occasionally even dolphins. The balcony isn't large but there is more enough space for sveral adults to stretch out out weary legs while sitting in any of the three chairs provided.

From standing in our second floor room to wading in the warm waves of the gulf was a two minute jaunt, with easy access to both stairs and elevators that exited virtually onto the beach. On the way down, there are vending machines for ice and well stocked snack and soft drink dispensers.

The onsite restaurant is a fine spot for breakfast in particular (lots of yummy pancake and waffle varieties) and lunch as well, but dinner isn't served. The bright cheery eatery offers a view of the beach from all tables . . . a GREAT view from those tables nearest the floor to ceiling glass walls on the south side. Servers are most friendly, attentive, and accommodating. The indoor pool is in a separate building but is only steps away from all rooms. The outdoor pool is enhanced by a man-made rock feature that creates a cave-like nook at one end. It appears to be equipped to send waters cascading down like a waterfall but that feature wasn't in operation when we visited.

Perhaps the most attractive aspect of this hotel is it's location, with shops, diners, pubs, live-entertainment and the beach all within very easy walking distance. I won't review those venues here but may offer separate reviews for them as time goes by.

Based on our simple but clean and perfectly adequate room, the overall friendliness of the hotel and diner staff, the exceptional views from beachfront balconies, and the superb location, I would return to this hotel without hesitation. I almost typed "reservation" rather than "hesitation" but realized that, in fact, one must have reservations!

Room Tip: Specify gulfview and inquire as to whether the room has been recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrMike83158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

You really can't beat the location but the hotel left plenty to be desired. The carpet in room was damp to the touch the entire three days. The room smelled of mildew the entire time. Being allergic to mildew this did not make for restful sleep or a comfortable stay. There is shelf over sink and you can't get over sink to wash face without hitting head and making mess. Because I didn't go through the hotel and therefore pay more for the room (used travel site), we ended up with the room that looked out to a blank wall because the indoor pool is in separate building in front parking lot. Because of our view of the wall the room felt closterphobic. The outdoor pool on beach side was freezing even in heat of day. The hot tub was the temperature the pool should have been. When getting free coffee and tea in morning the hot water was brown coming out of the machine. So we passd on both coffee and tea.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MsMarty2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Rather run down and musty ,Absolutely no security here AT all, during the MusicFest there were people sleeping in the halls that were obviously not registered there. Our vehicle was towed because management "didnt see our parking permit" even though we had been there for 4 days, no one seemed to realize it was a registered guests vehicle, nor did they double check the plates...they just had it towed...then the owner flatly refused to accept any responsibility...
Total cost for 4 days? 1400 for the rooms, 250 for the towing.
Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Look for another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank vocal_local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $101 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing