We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but watch the hot tubs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western On The Beach
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but watch the hot tubs”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Nice location, clean rooms. We left just before the Memorial Day crush, so can't address how quiet the rooms are on a holiday weekend. Convenient beach access. My only concern was with the hot tubs. Each of the two hubs in the heated pool area mysteriously had electrical conduits, and in one case an exposed ground wire, in an area that was splashed with water when the spa jets were turned on. I mentioned my concern to one of the pool maintenance guys and he said he'd mention it to the management. He also said the whole area was scheduled for renovation in the future. By all means, stay her......just don't get in the hot tub until the wiring is re-routed !!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slipjigpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    283
    140
    92
    74
See reviews for
496
367
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Room was not cleaned well and towels were not exchanged until 3 pm. Beds were never made.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaBigDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raceland, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I so enjoyed my stay!! Staff was very friendly, and housekeeping was very helpful. The Island Pancake house is their restaurant and my husband and I apsolutly LOVED the relaxing view of the ocean as I ate my breakfast. Wonderful stay overall we will def. be back.

Room Tip: we had an ocean view kitchenette which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgorgonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I had read a ton on this hotel when I finally reserved a room for my husband and I. We arrived, and were greeted nicely (and every time after that). There was a nice little dine in place near the front desk for breakfast (not free, but the serving sizes are nice. Pancakes are fluffy as all hell!). The elevator to the floors is only located in the main lobby, so you can't go straight up from the beach floor. Tiny bit of a pain.

We were placed on the second floor right next to the soda and ice machine which was neat, even though the few times we used the machine they weren't stocked right (press for water, you get a mountain dew). We we're near all the fan generator things which were very loud, but you honestly can't hear them once the door is shut. And for the comments about the loud slamming door, yes, they do slam loudly because of the suction of the wind that comes through when you leave the balcony door open.

The bedroom was basic, but nice if you plan to only stay for a little while for the main necessities and then move on to other activities. A bed, table, two comfy chairs, nice size tv with a dresser, and a tall armoire with a mini fridge and a microwave (no utensils). The coffee maker and ice bucket are in the bathroom (odd). Our view was lovely since we had a view of the ocean and the pool right below us. The waterfall like feature wasn't running at the time though.

There's an inside pool out front with two very hot jacuzzi's, a lovely outside pool and kiddie pool out back, and of course the beach. The staff sets out pads and umbrella's along the beach every morning, but you aren't supposed to use them unless you reserve them for anywhere from an hour to a full day. The staff runs by every once ina while to ask if you're interested in renting if you're sitting in one. They also keep the underside of the hotel clean of sand by sweeping at least once a day (saw a man doing it with an old fashioned broom). They also clean the beach in the morning with a big machine that drags a comb of some sort.

The hotel was right next door to a neat little scooter rental place (very fun, but don't rent over an hour since you'll get bored within that time). It's very close to a bunch of other little restaurants, but for some serious dinner, you need to drive a bit further away. Be sure to check out their broshure on the table about attractions since it gives you a ton of options. But be sure to call all the places to reserve times asap upon or before arrival other wise they'll most likely be full. Anything romantic (anything with the word sunset), should be reserved ahead of time!

Room Tip: Reserve your rooms at least a month ahead of time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTEWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I try to make a point to stay with Best Western whenever I can. The value and service are usually above par. While this particular hotel has amazing location and pretty good rooms working for it, the service could have made it or broke it for us... the night staff was friendly and helpful, but the person working the day was disconnected and almost rude. The signage does not make finding thingz intuative, and the pool doesnt open until 830. They should at least open it up upon request. All in all, great view... ok service.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewlduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2011

My husband and i had a wonderful stay here everyone was super nice everything we asked for was supplied and more.The pancake house was a very relaxing view and meal.The rooms were wonderful and the view from our beach front room was Wonderful.I must say that Meagan the desk clerk was fabulous she truly made our stay great.Thanks so much Meagan we will be back we hope you stay where you are .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagulls111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Very clean and comfortable room with king bed; very spacious and clean bath. Wasn't impressed with on-site restaurant. We had breakfast there; would have preferred the hotel have a free, simple, continental breakfast. Ocean view from balcony was ok; would have liked better without noise from air unit on roof right next to our balcony. We should have requested an ocean front room but it really wasn't a big issue. Overall, it was fine for our one-night stay and was exceptionally clean. We were also pleased with the amount of parking available. Fine for families with children.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
2.9 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The Beach

Property: Best Western On The Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Boulevard, PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing