We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Never Stay Here Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Church Point Louisiana
2 reviews
“Would Never Stay Here Again”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

It was horrible remote had batteries taped in and did not even work had to go back to the front desk twice before we could get one that actually worked. No coffee in the room had to go and get some at front desk...went to make coffee next morning pot did not work, my husband went to the front desk and got another one that one did not work....bathroom had ants on floor...room and bedding did not smell fresh and clean it was a horrible experience and I would not recommend anyone staying at this hotel....we were charged like $90 dollars a night when they should have charged $30 dollars a night because that is all it would have been worth....I know now that I will avoid ever staying there again I could not wait for the morning so that we could get the hell out of there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nay3865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    14
    19
    84
See reviews for
50
33
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I arrived at this hotel to be shocked by the outside conditions. The front desk clerk was very friendly but she did not make up for the poor quality of this hotel. The rooms where out dated and smelled horrible. The a/c barely worked in our room. Door didnt close properly. I will never return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runofthemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gulf Shores hotels

soillinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I can not even believe everything that happened to us at this hotel. And when we thought it coundnt get any worse.... the hotel caught on fire.
We checked in - lots of dog barking - but it is a pet friendly hotel. Then we went into our room - the smell was horrible - it was NOT clean. The guest staying in the next room said they had to be moved due to the smell. It smelled of mildew!!!! We went down the several rooms to our friends room. I was the only one on the balcony and noticed A LOT of smoke. I called my husband and he noticed it was coming from the bottom floor of the hotel. We all grabbed our children and started running down stairs - knocking on doors as we ran. The smoke was coming from the laudrey room. The 2 girls on duty did not call the fire department nor did they come out and explain the situation to the half of the hotel stayers that was outside. My husband and our friend which is a volunteer fireman on the side went into the laudry room - where they saw the washing machine that had caught fire. It heated up enough to burn the wall and heat up the floor above it. My husband called the fire department - I happen to be in the lobby when the fire departmment called and the mangement told them that the alarm was pulled by mistake. I couldnt beleve they was flat out lie about what had happened. What if the fire resummed???? Oh and NOOOOOO towels.. What hotel doesnt have towel?? We were told that they could give us a sheet to dry off with. My daughter which is 11 got out of the pool and would not swim due to its uncleaniness. Once everything settled and the fire department did not come. I went to the front desk - between the dirt, mildew smell, no towels, and the fire and it not being reported correctly. I ask the front desk what I was supposed to do - the smell was unbearable. I was told that they would put a ionizer in the room for 1 1/2 hours but no one could be in the room. It is now 10pm I ask what I was supposed to do until 11:30pm and was told to swim in the pool. I did not wish for my 4 and 11 year old to swim until 11:30pm but since everything was booked I said that we would try it and at 11:30pm if the smell wasnt any better we would check out and just head home!! I was then told I could not get a refund. I was completely shooked - after all that had happened - they would not give me my money back. Oh and I had insisted that they contact the manager thinking that a management position would be more understanding of all that had happened. NO - Finally after myself demanding a refund and refusing to leave the front desk until I received it - my money was refunded. We left the hotel and will never go back.

PLEASE BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL. - IT WAS UNCLEAN AND MOST OF ALL UNSAFE.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcblover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Our room was filty, had dead bugs, our batteries to the romote were taped in, dirty carpet, no linens, smelled awful!
We had the worst experience. We had to wait to have our room "cleaned" before we could check in. We were told 4 and showed up at 5:30. Our room smelled like an old river cabin that had been shut up all summer long. We had no linens. We had to wait another 15 minutes for those. When we wiped our tub with a kleenex it revealed black smut, dirt and hair. We called the guy from the front desk in and he didn't seem to notice the smell ( I guess he was use to it) or seem to be bothered our tub was dirty. We ended up asking for a refund. I told my husband it reminded me of something from a scary movie. We decided we wouldn't even let our dogs stay here.
We ended up going a couple of minutes toward the tanger outlets and found a Holiday Inn, Express. It is brand new and one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. It is behind the cracker barrel. The city will not allow them to put sign up so you have to look for it. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizhamner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I booked this hotel on line and thought that I was getting a first rate hotel. First of all on line it is Comfort Inn and when I got there it was Quality Inn. That made me a little upset, after all it was my anniversary and I wanted things to be nice. The room has an oder, bathroom door would not close, carpet dirty. Needless to say it did not live up to the name which is implied "Quality".

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roc2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

(1) There are two First Streets in Gulf Shores, and - as we did not book the hotel beforehand and were driving around in the dark looking for it without aid of online directions - it was hard to find. Maybe it was because it was 11:00 at night.

(2) There were no cleanliness problems, but somehow the place was just kinda creepy and dated. I can't really explain it. Nothing strange happened, it just did not give me a good feeling.

(3) If you want to be near the beach, this is not the place for you. This hotel is on the other side of the bridge toward Foley. I would recommend finding something closer.

The staff were friendly, but I just can't shake that feeling. I could not recommend this place simply because something about it did not sit well with me.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SED84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We booked this hotel because we did not want to drive back to Mobile. It was very expensive but it saved a lot of drive time. The lobby gave me a feel of a contemporary hotel but that soon went away when I got to the room. The room just seemed cheap and out of date. There was mold all over the bathroom. My co-workers room smelled like it had been through a flood (My room was on the 2ed floor and his on the 1st.) I had to wait over 15 min. to check out b/c the front desk clerk was outside smoking. the phone also rang off the hook while I waited. I would stay again if I had business nearby but I would never stay if I was on some sort of vacation.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lotsotravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
4.0 mi away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#14 of 24 in Gulf Shores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores

Property: Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores
Address: 3049 West 1st Street, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-2710 (Formerly Travelodge Gulf Shores)
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores is located less than two miles from the Gulf of Mexico, Fort Morgan, and within easy driving distance of Mobile, AL, and Pensacola, FL. Visit The Track, a family recreation center with go-karts, miniature golf, bumper cars and rides designed especially for kids under eight years of age. Cool off on those hot summer days at Waterville USA, boasting more than 20 acres of water slides, wave pools and floating pools. If you prefer beaches to waterparks, the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico are also nearby. The Wharf complex offers great shopping, dining and live entertainment, just a short 3 minute drive from the Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores. Visit historic Fort Morgan, which has stood guard at the mouth of Mobile Bay for more than 150 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Days Inn
Comfort Inn Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing