We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Sleeping in your Car” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than Sleeping in your Car”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is no longer a Travelodge, but a Magnuson Inn. The carpets were so dirty our feet were black from walking on them. We did not have a key to our room because the outside lock was broken. It did lock from the inside. Bathroom was moldy. Bugs were crawling on the walls. The breakfast was pitiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BreezyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    14
    19
    81
See reviews for
48
32
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family and I are actually just leaving this location. Here's the rundown...online, this hotel is named Magnuson Inn and Suites, and there are two locations in Gulf Shores (this is the 3049 1st address)

The place was cheap, around $250, with the use of a 10% off promo. We were looking for somewhere to lay our heads on our weekend trip to gulf shores.

In saying that, we weren't looking for a palace, but we did expect reasonable accomodations. Check in was about 15-20 minutes. The room (second floor) was your typical motel 6 layout (2 beds, microwave, fridge, hair dryer). The room itself was clean at first glance. The bathroom was clean EXCEPT for the tub, which had a black substance in it (the front office said that it was stained and could not be removed, but whenever the water ran, small flakes would surface). We were not able to change rooms, the hotel was fully booked, so we opted to lay a towel in the tub and take showers.

The microwave had electrical issues and kept turning off, but we managed after several attempts. The was a flat screen tv, that was the nicest thing in the room. Other electronics like the hairdryer, clock radio, phone were dirty, good thing we didnt need to use them.

The floor is carpeted and filthy and if walk barefoot for a minute, your feet will be too.The bed sheets were clean, but one comforter was ripped, yet they still used it. The towels in the room were dingy, i dont know if they use bleach. Cleaning service was adequate, they remade the beds and emptied the trash but didn't change the sheets, and I had to wait for extra towels and wash cloths because they "were washing", which meant that I had to wait 20-30 minutes after the room was cleaned to take a shower.

Overall, if you're looking for a cheap stay-close to the beach, wal-mart, and restaurants, it won't "kill" you to stay here, but beware.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TishTurnerLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gulf Shores hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We arrived at the hotel Jul 7th to find leftover turkey sandwich meat in the refrigerator, and the frige didn't close. There was no shower curtain, therefore water went everywhere. There was mold and peeling paint in the bathroom. The carpet was so dirty it turned your feet black. The microwave was rusted inside. Had to plug in lamps to use them. One lamp didn't work. Another had a faulty plug-in and flickered so we left in unplugged.
Pulled out the side table to use the plug in and found hardened cheese, fruit loops and an empty chip bag. There were 3 of us staying in the room and only had 3 towels, 2 wash clothes and 1 hand towel. On Jul 10th requested new towels and told housekeeping my son would be in the room and just knock, towels never came. I had to get them from the office. The first night we went to bed the sheets were wrinkled like someone had slept in them, and there was Cheetos stain on the pillow case so I had to turn it inside out. Also, a burn hole in the blanket. Desk clerk didn't ask how our stay was at the time of check out.
We picked this hotel because it was close to everything. But never again will I stay at a Travelodge!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VirginiaKerr1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We wanted to stay experience Gulf Shores on our way to FL so we decided to go economical for the night but what a mistake that! Recent reviews about how filthy this hotel is are dead on and very accurate. The hotel booking was listed under the Magnuson Inn but upon arrival the Travel Lodge sign still remains!??? Once we checked in and entered our room couldn't help but notice a musty smell combined with remnants of that of a cigarette smell. So much for a non-smoking room!?? The carpet appeared to have been pulled up and not replaced properly leaving us wondering why it was pulled up in the first place. When we went to bed we didn't even get underneath the covers because we were so uncomfortable with the room itself. In the morning we woke up at around 6:30 AM and decided we wanted to get out from this dump of a hotel ASAP!!! When we proceeded to use the shower, much to our surprise we discovered mold on the shower curtains. Soon there after we packed up our stuff and checked out of the hotel room by 7:00 AM, wheeew what a relief that was! When I told the hotel receptionist that there was mold on the shower curtain, he just said he would "note" it. The free breakfast in the morning is such bogus, all they had was white bread and orange juice so don't be fooled with the offering of free continenetal breakfast! The ONLY good thing about this hotel is that it is fairly close to the beach and restaurants but I would have much rather paid a little more money than to have stayed at such an awful place. I have stayed at hotels for right around the same price in various cities and just figured you pay for what you get but this place does not even compare. My suggestion, enjoy your stay elsewhere and keep away from this bio-hazard of a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reconryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was located decently close to the beach at a price that wasn't crazy. But obviously, you get what you pay for. This hotel was gross. That is the only was to describe it. Our bathroom was missing a chunk out of the ceiling and the floors definitely made you want to keep your shoes on. This is one of those hotels where you just try not to think about it. If possible, find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerBR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
4.0 mi away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#14 of 24 in Gulf Shores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores

Property: Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores
Address: 3049 West 1st Street, Gulf Shores, AL 36542 (Formerly Travelodge Gulf Shores)
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Inn and Suites Gulf Shores is located less than two miles from the Gulf of Mexico, Fort Morgan, and within easy driving distance of Mobile, AL, and Pensacola, FL. Visit The Track, a family recreation center with go-karts, miniature golf, bumper cars and rides designed especially for kids under eight years of age. Cool off on those hot summer days at Waterville USA, boasting more than 20 acres of water slides, wave pools and floating pools. If you prefer beaches to waterparks, the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico are also nearby. The Wharf complex offers great shopping, dining and live entertainment, just a short 3 minute drive from the Magnuson Inn and Suites Gulf Shores. Visit historic Fort Morgan, which has stood guard at the mouth of Mobile Bay for more than 150 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Days Inn
Comfort Inn Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing