We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unusual property. There was a foam mattress and...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Very unusual property. There was a foam mattress and pillow in the window seat but it was too small and too high to actually sleep anyone. The wall behind the head of the beds was all mirrors with the major room lighting being indirect lighting above the mirrors. The bath towels were so small and thin that my husband thought we had left him only a hand towel. And the property seemed to be the furthest from the beach of any property. The breakfast was abysmal. There was an old Phillips tube television propped up on the closet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank MAW54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are in fact replacing the old TVs with 37 inch flat screen TVs and hope that project will be completed soon. In relations to our breakfast, menu, it is complete compliance with Microtel Brand Standards. We also offer "make your own waffles" which is not required by Microtel as a menu item. I apologize that you found our continental breakfast lacking. We do hope that you choose to stay with us again to show you that your experience was not the norm for our property


Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Samia G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

did not like this hotel, bed was horrible. tossed and turn the entire night. woke up with terrible backache.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

I am sincerely sorry that you found the bed and pillow in your guest room not to your liking,. I would advise you that anytime you find this situation at any hotel , you immediately report it to the front desk staff. Our staff is trained to react to any guest issues and resolve them immediately. It is entirely possible that we would have moved you to a room with a bed more to your liking.



Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The place looked ol and outdated. There were sheet rock patches that needed painting in my room.
Also every step the people upstairs took sounded like a foot race. The room I had connected to a room next door and I did not know them which is fine except I am glad I checked the door because it was unlocked.

The lady and man at front desk were helpful and nice but in my opinion way over priced

Stayed: July 2014
Thank greg107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for the noisy neighbors. This is not uncommon in a hotel. In all cases our front desk staff is trained to respond to such complaints when notified by politely asking the guest causing the noise to be more respectful of other guests in the hotel. If after a polite request, the noise has not subsided we will inform the offending party that we may ask them to leave if they can't be more respectful. I suggest that in the future you report such issues to a front desk agent. That should solve the issue and ensure you a good night of sleep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Microtel was a good choice for a lower cost summer vacation in Gulf Shores when it was not necessary to be right on the beach. It was full of happy family vacationers, but not too noisy. The staff was always very accommodating. Housekeeping staff was very attentive. Loved the trees around the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel Inn G, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We work hard to provide excellent service at good value. We sincerely hope that you choose us as your destination on a return to our city



Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
364 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores
#21 of 25 in Gulf Shores
121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Address: 3600 Gulf Shores Pkwy, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-2720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $47 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites Gulf Shores, Alabama. With our beautiful 'sugar white' beaches and emerald green waters just 3 miles to the sugar white sand beaches of Gulf Shores. We are conveniently located on Highway 59. This allows us easy access to both Interstate's I-10 and I-65 and major metropolitan cities, Mobile and Pensacola. Situated in the heart of uptown Gulf Shores, you will find us adjacent to Colonial Pinnacle's shopping & dining development and Craft Farms award-winning Arnold Palmer signature golf courses & spa. World famous Lucy Buffett's Lulu's is just down the road, where live music, good food and panoramic marina views allow you to sample some of our unpretentious deep-south culture. All of our guest rooms are non smoking. We offer quality budget accommodations in Gulf Shores. Add that to our fitness room, renovated outdoor pool, free continental breakfast, free WiFi, free parking (plenty of room for busses)great location to Gulf Shores, Foley and Orange Beach Sports Complexes you will know why we are a popular spot! Sorry no pets allowed. Service animals are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Gulf Shores
Microtel Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Microtel Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing