We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backsliding...”

Bahama Bobs Beach Side Cafe
Ranked #8 of 161 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
La Grange, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Backsliding...”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We own a rental unit in GShores and come to BB's at least 3x per year.
During off-season, wait is still long. That's good because people want to eat there. That's bad, because they don't manage their reservations well (non in advance, walk up only). We lost 2 seating opportunities as their 'hostess' wasn't on top of things.

Not a big deal, but when you have 4 or more, good luck.

Prices for seafood jumped $2.00 minimum per entree. They dropped the crab poboy sandwich (my favorite). Waitress said is was due to cold spring. Really? Global warming, must be the Republicans.

We many not go back, as it is pricing itself out of being 'affordable', add the wait to it.

Too bad, was a nice place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    727
    477
    181
    67
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordova, Tennessee
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Bahama Bob's was next door to hotel we stayed in so we tried it out and found it to be a great restaurant. Very diverse menu, lot's of great options. I had the Bahama Bob burger, my wife had fish. Both were very good. I had one little hiccup in that I ordered onion rings with meal and it did not get rung up right so they had to catch up to that which they did quickly.
My wife had a mixed drink with "150 proof" alcohol and it was not a lie. The drinks are strong so no cheating here. Even though we went at beginning of season the lines were long once 6 hit so this is not a secret but well worth the trip especially if you stay close.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPSandraTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal City, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My family took me there for my birthday, the seafood combo was great. I had shrimp, scallops and grilled fish. It was one of my better dinners that I had in Gulf Shores. The service was good, my only complaint was the place is small and no parking. I suggest to go early.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Great food at a good price. We got crab legs and shrimp, one meal was plenty for the two of us. The food was wonderful the service was friendly and attentive. Would recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food/Average service”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Great food! I was able to satisfy all 6 family members taste buds here. We had plenty left over as the portions are huge! Desserts are great as well! The staff was just ok. My 6 yr old had a spill and one of the waitresses just through down a stack of napkins in front of me!? The greeter & waitress didn't seem all that friendly & I wasn't really impressed with the scenery/atmosphere. If your looking for great food this is a must stop. The food is so good it will justify the price, I just hoped for better service.

Helpful?
Thank nrsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahama Bobs Beach Side Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bahama Bobs Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing