We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf State Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful park”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We camped at Gulf State park for 5 nights and it was wonderful! The park staff was so nice and helpful. The campgrounds are very well maintained and the campsites are nice sized with full hook-up. This was our first time to vacation in our camper and now we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    26
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
85
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Picayune, Mississippi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have camped in many a state park and this is by far the best. You get the beach, a great pool with splash pad for little ones, you can golf, and there is a lake for fishing and boating. The facilities are immaculately clean. We tent camp and I was a bit worried about the heat at end of May. We asked for a campsite near the lake and pool. Even though there was no shade the breeze from the lake made the night perfect. We are headed back in mid June and hope the weather is just as nice. The beach was great. Water not as clear as Destin but, sand and surf was fabulous. Camping was $30 a night. Recommend for families, tent campers and RV's. You have to drive to beach, to far to bike but, easy drive. No campfires. Restaurants are near.

Room Tip: Try and get a site near the lake and pool. You have to drive to beach but, walking to the pool is ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank dyej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family just spent a week at Gulf State Park. It is truly a great state park in a wonderful location. The campground is top notch with many amenities such as swimming pool and splash pad, great nature center, nice laundry mat and a camp store. Access to the beach is very close and also the bath houses are plentiful and always very clean. Gulf state is our families favorite and we only wish we could visit more often!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JimC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centre, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first trip in our camper. The park was much more than I expected it to be. It had all of the hookups needed except cable. We had the local channels and were completely fine with that though. The staff was very kind. No one got in without being seen and I felt safe. The beach in right up the road. We chose a site that was in the corner along Gator Road and enjoyed it. There was a couple who could be loud at times, but it was still much better than a condo right above you! Overall, we had a great anniversary trip!

Room Tip: We stayed about 5 minutes from the main gate and not on the main road. It was very quiet, but we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauryRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Loved our week of pop-up camping. All the sites are easy to get into with full hook-up. All facilities are modern and clean. We were on 275 which was by the bathhouse and had a view of the lake. Wi-Fi is a nice touch.

The only negatives was the hurricanes have reduced the number of large trees, which means you are more exposed to wind and sun. But this is minor and does not take too much away from the great all round experience the Park offers. With beaches close by, nature trails, closeness to town, this State park has much to offer everyone.

Room Tip: Odd sites 231-279, have nice lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler54_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Let me start out by saying that I am not a camper. It took a lot for me to drag myself on this family vacation. That said...It was one of my best trips. I thoroughly enjoyed the park. The bath houses were clean and the pool area was super nice. We rode bikes and just enjoyed the fresh air. The beach is a short bike ride away. The campground itself is very well run and kept very clean! My 7 year old enjoyed the Nature Exhibit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlellis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This state park far exceeded our expectations. It is in a great location, close to the Gulf coast Islands National Seashore. There is plenty to do: bird watching, beach combing (fabulous beaches), hiking, bike riding. The park has every amenity, including swimming pool, tennis courts, full hook ups at every camp site, attentive camp personnel. Love this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,089 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
180 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#14 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf State Park Campground

Property: Gulf State Park Campground
Address: 22050 Campground Rd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approximately 1.5 miles from the white sands of the gulf beaches, Gulf State Park offers a 496-site improved campground including 11 modern bathhouses, pull-thru sites, back-in sites, water front campsites, and ADA accessible sites. Tents are also welcome in our campground. Great for spending time with family and friends, all camping pads are paved and big enough for large RVs with pullouts. All sites have water, sewer and electricity (20, 30, and 50 amp), a picnic table, and pedestal grill. There are laundry facilities and recycling bins located beside the Campstore to accommodate our guests. There are two playgrounds located in the campground. Gulf State Park offers very limited WiFi service and cannot guarantee service. New to Gulf State Park are 11 brand new primitive camping sites that include stone campfire rings, grill tops, and picnic tables. These new sites are nestled among the trees and on the creek, and include access to the bathhouses, playgrounds, and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf State Park Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing