We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rv camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf State Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice campground. Absolutely no shade trees. Sites are very close together. I don't recommend anyone staying on 85-95 on bobcat trail because you will be camping next to the trash dumpsters and I don't recommend anyone paying the extra fee to stay right on the lake. The edges of the lake have overground bushes and catails wish makes viewing or fishing impossible. Now the good parts. The campground is staffed 24/7. They have a nice store for last minute items. And they have the nices state owned swimming pool I've ever seen. I can't say enough good things about the pool it was the highlight of the campground. And of course the beach is only a short drive away. Overall a nice place to stay but expensive camping fees. With fuel cost and camping fees we could have stayed in a condo cheaper

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Broncobait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We've stayed at Gulf State Park for years! Why in the world people would spend $2,000 on a condo for the week when Alabama has Gulf State Park Campground I will never fully understand. You could spend $2,000 and buy a small camper and spend close knit family time with your family and still have money left over. The campground itself is awesome! It's always well maintained. The swimming pool just completed a major renovation and added a small water fountain park for the little ones to play beside the pool. The bathhouses are spotless and well maintained! The beach pavilion is better and less crowded beach access that most of the other crowded condominium areas! It has a very nice bath house with showers, covered picnic area, snack stand, and beach chair and umbrella rental. My family enjoys the quality time that camping allows. You can always load up in the car and head to Gulf Shores or Orange Beach action areas. Then again, you can also chose sit back and enjoy each other, take family ride bicycles in the park, and roast hotdogs on your grill at night. We have seen gators in the park, as a matter of fact one had to be removed during our last stay because some grown adults can't OBEY the Do not feed or aggravate Alligators and Wildlife signs that are everywhere!!!!!! They aren't a problem for guests, but they are there. We like it over on Bunny Lane/Road because yes....it's full of little bunny rabbits hopping everywhere. Our girls loved that! I grew up camping and I can honestly say that this is the nicest campground that I've ever stayed at in 38 years! I mean they have wi-fi for crying out loud! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank OurHenryHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We didn't stay at the campground, but it was very nice and clean. We enjoyed the Nature Center- friendly staff and cool exhibits. We spent a morning biking the trails around the park and over to Orange Beach. Loved it! Rented the bikes at the park.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at GSP campground as "Plan B." After being pushed to plan b because of flooding at Fort Pickens, we found GSP. At around $35/night, I found that the park was reasonably priced for the proximity to the beach, cleanliness, and security.

We didn't see any alligators, despite the warnings from park staff and the signs. Restrooms were clean and showers were hot and had knobs instead of the pesky push buttons that many parks use. Sites were all paved and fairly level. I really liked to see that this state park recycles anything recyclable. I hate seeing state parks that don't recycle.

Warning - Take some sort of ant spray. The site 2 down from us had small ants that bit and hurt! Be prepared to go to war with them if needed.

We were very impressed by the laundry facilities, new pool, camp store, tennis courts, etc. We didn't go into the nature center, but I would assume it is nice as well, since it also appeared new.

The land around the park is beautiful and the beach is not crowded, like in the resort areas. We traveled in mid-June, 2012. Lifeguards were patrolling the beach and thanked us for having our kids in life vests.


This park was close to anything you could need or want. Tourist traps and restaurants were within a very short drive and Wal-Mart was also within 10 minutes.

The staff advised we could have a campfire, but it had to be in a self-provided, elevated fire ring with cover. I hadn't packed that and wasn't paying for one at Wal-Mart, so no campfire. Marshmallows over the grill tasted fine though!

We wouldn't hesitate to return to GSP for a beach vacation with our travel trailer!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CampinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The campground was very spacious as it has almost 500 campsites. Some sections are more shaded than others. A lot of trees were lost during hurricanes and then there was a fire last year ( I think) that destroyed for trees. The sites are all paved and a good distance away from the next site.

The pool is very big. It has a shaded area in the middle. There is a splash pad for the little ones. When we went for Easter weekend they charged a $2 fee per person per day. This was new because last year there was no fee. The lady at the front desk said that the maintenance costs were more than expected after the first year, so the fee helps make up the difference.

The campground is a short drive or bikeride to the beach. There is not much parking available, though since it is open for anyone to park at. We had to go down to the parking area with the pier to park one of the days.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brit1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place puts our California state parks to shame!!! Large private, shaded campsites, nice heated pool area, marina, 4 lighted tennis courts in great shape, clean bathrooms, store, close to beautiful beach but not right on it. We paid $37 a night for full hook ups inc. WIFI...unbelievable for a state park system!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed her 2 nights, would have stayed longer but were headed elsewhere. Very nice friendly helpful staff. Clean. Sites were level, long cement. Not a lot of trees but many sites are shady, just ask. Golf carts allowed. Laundry, nature center, camp store and nice boat rsmp and fishing dock

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,217 reviews
4.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
361 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
3.2 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores
#21 of 25 in Gulf Shores
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf State Park Campground

Address: 22050 Campground Rd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approximately 1.5 miles from the white sands of the gulf beaches, Gulf State Park offers a 496-site improved campground including 11 modern bathhouses, pull-thru sites, back-in sites, water front campsites, and ADA accessible sites. Tents are also welcome in our campground. Great for spending time with family and friends, all camping pads are paved and big enough for large RVs with pullouts. All sites have water, sewer and electricity (20, 30, and 50 amp), a picnic table, and pedestal grill. There are laundry facilities and recycling bins located beside the Campstore to accommodate our guests. There are two playgrounds located in the campground. Gulf State Park offers very limited WiFi service and cannot guarantee service. New to Gulf State Park are 11 brand new primitive camping sites that include stone campfire rings, grill tops, and picnic tables. These new sites are nestled among the trees and on the creek, and include access to the bathhouses, playgrounds, and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf State Park Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing