We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf State Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

For a state park, a top-of-the-line campground. Lots are spacious: Each has enough pavement for your RV/trailer, but also plenty of natural surface for your tent. All come with a picnic table and a grill, and there are even a lot of pull-through lots.

Bathrooms are plentiful and spotlessly clean, park is very well maintained and very scenic. The people at the reception are very cheer- and helpful. Smooth check-in and -out. Great location - while built in the marsh area, it's absolutely dry and we had surprisingly no mosquitoes at all (we went in April). Pool looked nice, clean and modern (but we didn't try it out). Beach is only a short bike ride away.

Only downside: The convenience store had a poor selection. And we didn't see any alligators, despite the promising sign: "Don't feed or aggravate the alligators" :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Machtnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Gulf State Park Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 158 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

This state park is in sight of the beach and many area attactions. The sites are placed apart nicely. WIFI is good. Full hookup. Beautiful park. $33 /night by lake.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

have stayed at GSP 3 times now in May and October ( shrimp festival ) tent camping and have absolutely fell in love with this place ! i work in a park system and this place makes me a little envious. bathrooms are awesome ! always so clean. i always want to stay and extra day or 3 and will never go to Panama city again !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at GSP for a long weekend in a class C motor home. The paved level lots were great with electrical, water, sewer easy to hook up. Each lot has a picnic table and grill. We found the check-in a little time consuming. I am not sure if it was a new person or system. They have internet throughout the campground however the signal seems to be very weak. There are plenty of bath houses which were spotless. We had some rain and it was difficult to stay connected to the internet and doing Netflix was impossible (I would bring your own DVD's, CD's, etc., in case it rains). Staff and other campers were very friendly. Great walking trails plus a great walk to the beach (about 1 1/4 miles). There is a brand new huge pool and pool house which I believe opens in April. There are many tennis and volleyball courts plus many other activities. Shopping and grocery stores are about 4-5 miles away. This was our first adventure camping in a motor home and we would camp at this park again

Room Tip: Reservations are a must. Lots are chosen on a first come first serve basis, so get there early. I...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbeck444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband, son and I stayed two nights in a small cabin in the woods. If I were to go again, I would pay a bit more and stay in a lakeside cabin. The view from the lakeside cabins is beautiful. There are also two playgrounds and piers on the lakeside cabin side of the park.
The trails in the park are awesome! I especially love that they were paved, so we could walk or ride our bikes.
The cabin in the woods is very secluded. The cabin was fully equipped with kitchen items, linens and satellite TV. The cabin was clean and felt like an old rustic cabin.
I was a bit disappointed that we were charged to walk on the Gulf State Park Pier, which is on the beachside. It seems like that should be free to guests!

Room Tip: The lakeside cabin is worth the extra money! The view of the lake is stunning, especially at sunset...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank TomTom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

A beautiful gem near a beautiful beach. Plenty of elbow room; clean rest rooms; awsome pool and splash park; nature center; beautiful lake front sites, etc etc etc

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank flsouthwind32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in the Lake Side Cabin at Gulf State Park..We stayed a weekend in August 2011 and it was a clean and quiet place..Best of both the lake and the beach..We will return..

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank lynnj9500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,196 reviews
4.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
356 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
241 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
3.2 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores
#22 of 25 in Gulf Shores
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf State Park Campground

Address: 22050 Campground Rd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approximately 1.5 miles from the white sands of the gulf beaches, Gulf State Park offers a 496-site improved campground including 11 modern bathhouses, pull-thru sites, back-in sites, water front campsites, and ADA accessible sites. Tents are also welcome in our campground. Great for spending time with family and friends, all camping pads are paved and big enough for large RVs with pullouts. All sites have water, sewer and electricity (20, 30, and 50 amp), a picnic table, and pedestal grill. There are laundry facilities and recycling bins located beside the Campstore to accommodate our guests. There are two playgrounds located in the campground. Gulf State Park offers very limited WiFi service and cannot guarantee service. New to Gulf State Park are 11 brand new primitive camping sites that include stone campfire rings, grill tops, and picnic tables. These new sites are nestled among the trees and on the creek, and include access to the bathhouses, playgrounds, and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf State Park Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing