We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

this hotel is dog friendly which is why we stayed there.
check isn't until 4pm which is very late when its a 100 degree outside and you can't go anywhere with two small dogs. after explaining our situation to the front desk they did allow us to check it at 315 which was was great.
the room itself was a typical two star hotel. no frills and no extras
they do advertise a free Continental breakfast, which is a loaf of bread with squeeze jelly and dry cereal with milk that has been left out. I passed on that.

the location is just off the strip about .5 mile away from the beach
they are right by the Alabama state trails which was awesome when I was walking the dogs each morning.
also they are located rt next to 24 hour Walgreen.
if you want cheap and no frills go with this otherwise save your money

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teamHNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    32
    24
    90
See reviews for
86
44
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowley, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was very disappointed in this hotel. The staff was rude, the hallway was so hot, the elevator needs to be inspected, the pool room felt like a sauna, they barely came to clean our room, when they did they left us a few towels and 2 wash cloths, mind you I have 5 people in my family. Went to get more towels at the desk, had to wait in line behind other families that needed towels also and they said they were out completely. The breakfast was cereal spread out all over the counter with warm milk, the whole place had a bad odor in it, I was actually waiting for the air conditioner to just fall out of the room. Wow I could go on and on. NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gulf Shores hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is terrible. The sheets smell like they have not been washed in weeks. A/C has mold growing in it, our key card reader was broke so everytime we came back the front desk had to come let us into our room. The bathroom door looks like someone kicked it open and murdered somone in there. The pillows are the cheapest ever, I am really mad that I paid over $150 for one freaking night in this place. I will find the owner or manager soon and have a talk with them because this place is a health hazard. All of the positive reviews have to be a joke because anyone who thinks this place is okay to sleep is just crazy. AVOID AT ALL COSTS, we will spend the $200 or more next time if we have to wait for our beach house to be ready.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Perry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Wow. I've traveled a lot in my lifetime and can say this was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Where shall I begin? With the elevators expired permit? Oh, or the dirty underwear on the broken washer all week? No, I'll start with the fact that our room wasn't cleaned ONCE during our 5 night stay. Want photos? Happy to share with you.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, there are no good rooms here. If you decide to do it, bring your own cleaning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We pull up and go to check in and the person working the front desk is rude. She can't do more than one thing at a time and It took about 20 minutes just to check in. We walk into the room put our luggage down and already see roaches crawling on the door. I wouldn't recommend this to my worse enemy. NEVER STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsu4623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were not ready @ check in time. Bathroom wasn't cleaned. No towels EVER! We had 3 people in our room & only 2 towels left for us. This is after asking that morning for towels & told they didn't have any. So my son & I went without baths all day to come back to not enough towels for all of us again. The only person there that tried to be helpful, not rude & smile was the manager of housekeeping. The elevator inspection is out of date also.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naenae28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a terrible experience with this hotel. For starters they lost our reservation but luckily I had our confirmation information. I even call prior to arriving to verify our reservation. The gentleman working the counter had a terrible attitude! Now it looks like they charged our credit card four times instead of once! The hotel was dirty and run down. We paid $137 per room for one night! This is a $60 per night hotel at best! NEVER stay here EVER!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAM20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
5.5 mi away
Lewiston Hall
Lewiston Hall
#15 of 24 in Gulf Shores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores

Property: Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores
Address: 213 W Fort Morgan Rd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-4083 (Formerly Days Inn Gulf Shores)
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay within minutes of the beautiful Gulf Shores beaches at the pet-friendly Magnuson Hotel Gulf Shores. Admire exotic animals at the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo, and spend an afternoon dodging obstacles at Pirates Island Miniature Golf Course. Thrill on exciting water rides and splash in refreshing wave pools at Waterville USA waterpark or race around The Track, a high-speed go-kart track and amusement park. Head to the Tanger Outlets to shop at discounted stores, or visit the Wharf for premier shopping, dining and nightlife destination. White sandy beaches, championship golf and top-notch fishing are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel and Suites Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores La Quinta
La Quinta Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing