We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phoenix All Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Scottsburg, IN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vacation!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Phoenix All Suites Inn is a fabulous place to stay with a small group. We had 2 Adults, 1 child, and one Teen. Place was clean, roomy, staff were fantastic. Always took care of any issue we had ( remote, extra towels, missing toaster) very promptly. Pool, although small, was very enjoyable. Usually only a few people there at any one time. Beach area always clean We were there from 7/27 through 8/3. Check in/out was very prompt. I had heard complaints about the slow elevators, but that wasn't really an issue. Kids loved the bunk beds in the hall. Balcony was very relaxing. Bed very comfortable, slept very well, each night. Would highly recommend this hotel to ANYONE!

Room Tip: WE were advised of the noise from the "HANGOUT" could possibly be an issue, never heard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    168
    83
    51
    29
See reviews for
282
151
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calera, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Phoenix All is located in the heart of Gulf Shore. This place is all about location, location, location. The hotel is located right next to the World Famous, Pink Pony Pub and walk just 30 seconds gets you to the cool HANGOUT! This is place you want to be if you don't want to worry about getting out in traffic and driving. The whole family can get out and enjoy the beach and sights!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family and I come to Gulf Shores/Orange Beach about twice a year, but we usually stay in the other phoenix condos. Due to the unreal skyrocketing condo rental prices, we decided to try the Phoenix All Suites Hotel. Knowing the excellent history we have had with Brett/Robinson properties we trusted that it would we great as always. Unfortunately the negatives out weigh the positives here.
The good. Although it is a hotel suite, the room is more like a 1 bedroom condo. There is 1.5 baths, a full kitchen, bunk beds and a fold out sleeper sofa in a nice sized sitting room. The decor of the room was newer and nicer than expected and all the appliances were new and working. The housekeeping staff were great, as were the front desk people.
The bad. The elevators are the WORST, very old and very slow. One of them stayed out of order most of our visit July 10-14. The pool is a sad joke. It is approximately 4.5 feet wide, long and narrow as if it was a section of a lazy river. The beach chair service is not IKES and they are aweful. They show up at random times in the mornings, they dont put your name on the chairs (my wife lost her chair to a couple and was given another in a less than ideal location). Being a hotel, there is NO washer/dryer in the rooms, so keep that in mind if you pack light. The areas around the elevators on the upper floors were dimly lit and dingy, and the garbage cans in that area smelled aweful.
We stayed here out of desperation and it served its purpose for our trip, but if I personally won't stay here again. If I can't afford a newer property, we will just travel elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dgannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have stayed at Phoenix All Suites - West in the past and enjoyed it enough to book again. With only 2 weeks notice, we were able to book a suite for July 4 weekend and for that we are grateful. However, during my reservation call, I specifically booked a suite at the West that would sleep 6. I really didn't want to be close to the public beach with a pub adjoining the property over July 4 weekend. However, my reservations were changed without my knowledge to the East location in a handicap accessible room that only slept 4. Luckily we only had 4 on the trip so we reluctantly accepted this change- after all, we wouldn't have found anything else at 11:30 pm on July 3. After further investigation, it turns out they sent an email just a few hours later on the day of booking that explained all this. However, I never received/opened that email.

Despite, getting off to a really bad start, we did enjoy our stay. And, the very reasons I didn't want to stay at the East location proved to be silly. First, it is adjoining a public beach and an empty lot. There are only about 40 one-bedroom units. So, the beach nor the pool was crowded at all. It was very surprising! Because of the location, we were able to walk to eat three times. It was nice to avoid the traffic. The Pink Pony Pub was not problematic at all and we never were bothered with music from the Hangout either. There were not a "bunch of drunks" on the beach as I feared. Overall, the beach location was a very nice surprise.

Finally, when my son dropped my only key to my car down the elevator shaft as we were checking out, the staff was very helpful and were able to retrieve my key within about 45 minutes. So, after beginning this trip on a very bad note, it turned out well and taught me some lessons in preconceived notions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was my husband and my first vacation to Gulf Shores, so we were not sure where to stay. We booked the Phoenix All Suites Hotel through Brett-Robinson Rentals and they were very accommodating. They gave us a generous military discount. All you have to do is ask if you book by phone.
Back to the review... all the suites were on the Gulf. The beach in that area was far from crowded, unlike many of the other phoenix properties further east down the road into Orange Beach. The location is great if you want to be in the center of all the action. You can just park the car and walk to area restaurants and surf shops. But the grocery stores you will need to drive to.
All the suites are equipped with a full kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, bunk beds, flat screen t.v.'s, and a balcony overlooking the Gulf. Very comfortable and updated. The king size bed was a little hard. That was my only complaint about the room itself.
Outside is a different story...we were there from July 8th-12th, 2013 and one of the elevators only worked July 11th. It was under repair the other three days. There were two elevators total, but with one down, they were awfully slow. The stairwell smelled like trash, or plumbing and it wasn't clean. There was no curb appeal from the road. Nothing made the building stand out. The pool area needs updating. The pool was really skinny and only allowed a few adults to be in at a time. The pool area could also be expanded.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor, especially if one of the elevators is down. We took the stairwell quite a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajohnson42279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton TN
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed at Phoenix All Suites for the past 3 years. We love the location and the views. The rooms are always clean and staff is friendly. The worst part by far is the ELEVATORS. This was the worst yet. They are old and slow. We stayed for a week on the 8th floor. The last 2 days the West elevator was out of order which made slow even slower. Not sure that I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWMTrentonTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We made a last minute stop in Gulf Shores. We pulled into Gulf Shores and immediately saw the condo building with a vacancy sign. The office offered us a key to check out the unit, and we booked it for 4 nights. The condo was very spacious, clean, well stocked and a beautiful view of the gulf. No sign of bed bugs or other critters. The mattress on the queen bed, could have been more comfortable, but it was tolerable. The living room offered a sleeper sofa and one chair. The pool was clean, well kept, but small and somewhat crowded later in the afternoon. Due to the location, the noise level was high(our unit set right behind the Pink Pony Pub) and next door to the Hangout, a popular gathering place. With the doors closed, tho, this wasn't a problem, only when sitting on the balcony. The location was perfect if you like to be in the center of it all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
4.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
202 reviews
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
2.7 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix All Suites Hotel

Property: Phoenix All Suites Hotel
Address: 201 E. Beach Blvd., Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a beachfront hotel in Gulf Shores, AL then you've found it! Phoenix All Suites Hotel offers the luxury of a condo with the amenities of a hotel. The hotel offers friendly service, condo-style amenities, convenient locations with direct beach access and, of course, unforgettable memories. Phoenix All Suites is strategically located to give you easy access to all that Gulf Shores has to offer. It's just a block east of Hwy. 59 on East Beach Boulevard. Great restaurants and shops are within walking distance. There's a lot to experience while visiting Gulf Shores, make sure you choose a location that is close to where you want to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Phoenix All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix All Hotel Gulf Shores
Phoenix Hotel Gulf Shores
Phoenix Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing