We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coastal Decor for Coastal Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lucy B Goode - CLOSED

Lucy B Goode
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
336 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Coastal Decor for Coastal Food”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The restaurant is in a large metal building that has been finished in old barn boards to give it a rustic, coastal look. The restaurant is open and airy although there is one side that needs some shades to block the sunlight coming in through the glass garage doors. The menu is an eclectic selection of lighter coastal food including crab cakes, grilled drum, fried seafood and quail. Do not come here if you are craving red meat. The service is attentive and fast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peripatetic_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best ribs I have ever had”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were looking forward to having Fried shrimp at Lulus but on the night we went It was an hour wait so we were directed to Lucy's new restaurant Lucy b Goode.
Wow were we ever glad. The food was so wonderful. Wonderful classy atmosphere Waiters a bit overwhelmed the night we were there as there was an overwhelming crowd but it was all in all a very pleasant experience.

Best food we have eaten at a restaurant in years.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennboater2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fresh & Refreshing”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

When we heard that Lucy Buffett had opened a new farm to table restaurant, we knew that we would have to try it and we were not disappointed! We started with the Gulf Shrimp Salad, which was amazing with cilantro, lemon, lime, & orange zest & sautéed crab claws...delightfully light & different. For our warm plate we chose the soft shell crab Poboy. Our server said that the crab was fresh from the gulf and live in the tank until ordered. In fact, there's no freezer at Lucy B Goode so everything is served is fresh & local, never frozen. We also shared a side of Gouda grits made with grits from the Fairhope Tire Store. A delicious comfort food that is undeniably southern. Our server Sean was very knowledgable about the restaurant & the ever changing menu. He was very attentive & eager to answer all of our questions. We love this place & will be back during our next visit to Gulf Shores!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank desdemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lucy B Goode-Not Yet Ready for Primetime”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This nearly new establishment fairly reeks of management failure. Luckily, the failure is not necessarily permanent.

We were greeted at the door by a very young hostess, who showed us quickly to a table not to our liking because of its relative isolation from the rest of the restaurant. When we asked for another table, the hostess was obviously irritated and became condescending and less than gracious, but did find a table in the nearly empty restaurant that was more to our liking. This was the first turn off. We did however, rather enjoy her antics as she danced alone to the too loud music, in and out of the front door and around the lectern, that was her apparent station.

Hanging in the front of the restaurant, almost over the bar is a most unusual and attractive, very large metal sculpture of a shrimp. This is the best of the decor. Though billing itself as upscale, fine dining, Lucy B's does not sport a table cloth, though there are linen napkins. These are unfortunately used to wrap the silverware, instead of gracing a place setting. On the other hand, the silver wrapped in the napkins is probably the very best quality restaurant cutlery we have ever seen in any American restaurant.

Over the bar, which is clearly visible from almost every table in the establishment, are two, large-screen televisions, which had the attention of the entire wait staff, during a large part of the evening. True, this is Alabama where football passions run high but come on, Lucy, is this a sports bar or a fine dining, small plate restaurant. On the night this writer was there, it was neither.

Our waiter greeted us promptly after we were seated but as is so often the case, addressed us as "folks" and claimed that he would be "taking care of us" , both practices which we abhor. Very young and obviously untrained in his craft, he proceeded to work from one side of the table, serving and taking away as might have been convenient for himself, without regard for the customary practice, of which he must have been blissfully unaware, as were the other staff members we observed. Again, we were unable to attract his attention when he and several other of the waitstaff were gathered at the bar, with eyes only for whatever sporting event was portrayed. He was unable to answer questions about the wretchedly organized and seriously overpriced wine list or about food preparations. When asked about bread for the table, he responded that Lucy's didn't serve any bread, although, "people keep asking for it".

We ordered two entrees and a tomato salad, all of which we had intended to share, as is our custom in such establishments. When the salad was served, by someone other than our waiter, it was placed in front of this reviewer and no sharing plates were offered, though there were two across the table from the diners. Small plate indeed, this $7 tomato salad consisted of three small slices of truly excellent tomato, a couple of slices of onion and a very good vinegarette. There simply was not enough for sharing and for the size of the portion, it was excessively priced.

The crab cake entree was superb. Never has this writer seen so much lump crabmeat in a crab cake. This was a real treat for both of us. The other entree was a different story. Although the preparation was very nice, apparently the chef either did not know that prior to cooking, soft shell crab must be cleaned, to the extent of having its digestive and reproductive organs removed, or he entrusted some underling with this task and never realized what had occurred. The result was a disgusting array of intestine and other such offal popping out of the crab, when it was cut. At this point, we were not about to return the plate to the kitchen. Here again, this is a management failure.

Inadequate supervision is always a problem. On the night in question, we asked our waiter for the position of the one individual who appeared to be management staff. He was identified as the "Bar Manager" and must never have been employed in a fine dining establishment, where silverware is automatically replaced when dirty plates are removed, instead of asking customers if they would "like to keep your silverware for your entree?", as did this gentleman. In addition, when asked by the diner for replacement, he actually frowned and did an "eye roll". Remarkable.

Finally, we suggest that Lucy B Goode shut down for a month and bring in a restaurant/dining consultant to help make decisions. Pricing must be examined and adjusted, both up and down. e.g., a small fillet at $22 has no place on a "small plate" menu. Either get rid of the televisions or call it a sports bar. Train the staff and have senior management present to oversee the operation, at all times when guests are being serve. There is potential here but not unless the problems are recognized and corrected.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DickGreenville_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEST FOOD & SERVICE EVER!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I read the other reviews on here & decided to try this place for lunch today.... AWESOME!!! I was told that they have only been open for one month & it did NOT disappoint! I would recommend this place to anyone who loves GREAT gourmet food, great atmosphere, & great service! Pricing is clearly marked on the menu & portion sizes are perfect - not too much food & not too little. Its slightly off the main hwy 59 next to the Marina & next door to LuLu's. It is well worth the visit & I will DEFINITELY be back! I love Lucy-B-Goode's!!! Special shout out to Connie, my server, who made my 1st visit so fun!!! ;) 5 stars!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BamaSnowGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy B Goode also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing