We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive take on traditional Mexican cuisine.”

Cactus Cantina Mexican Grill
Ranked #34 of 156 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted Best Mexican Food on the Gulf Coast. Laid back Mexican with an American twist in a beachy atmosphere. Try our Cactus Grits and our Knockout Margarita
Ashover
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Impressive take on traditional Mexican cuisine.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having returned from New Mexico where the food delivered was exceptional, this restaurant also gives a very good take on traditional Mexican cuisine.
Very varied menu delivered with enthusiasm from the servers who will spend an age talking about the menu. They do really work hard and deserve their gratuity. The Tacos are excellent. Do try and enjoy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MozartAshover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    88
    44
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh Food and Great Margaritas”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently moved to the area and are exploring lots of local restaurants - and this is one we will definitly revisit and bring friends! The service was very fast and friendly, and knowledgeable about the menu with great recommendations. Food was very fresh and tasty, and the margaritas were the perfect topper! Value was pretty good also.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank masmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Ok Mexican Food”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

It is typical Mexican food. Not outstanding and not inexpensive. I will not go back. There are several other restaurants near by that have better Mexican, better prices, and better atmosphere. I asked for a taco salad without the shell. The waitress treated me like a freak! She had never heard of it and made a point to chuckle and comment to my guest. I order this dish many times without the attitude.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2015Roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, Great, Great”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food was so good it's worth coming down just to eat here. The service and surroundings are also good. If you r down here don't miss this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bessemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Are we in Texas?”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Super tasting food, we all got different items to taste, they were all good. Wait staff very friendly. Sweet to boot. YEE HAW.
Only thing the outside ornaments light did no light up.

Rob Ochoa

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Cantina Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Cantina Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing