We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Lousy Service”

King Neptune's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 162 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Food - Lousy Service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The food was good. We had a shrimp po'boy that included fries and cole slaw. Unfortunately, the service was lacking. I don't know if it's because they were so busy or if they wait staff just had lousy attitudes. It's a small place with no place to wait inside for a seat. You are told to wait outside. This time of the year it's too hot and humid to be waiting outside. Saw lots of people leave because of this. I will go back, but not in the summer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TNMTNGURL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    230
    109
    68
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Expensive but great selection”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a small, older restaurant that is a legendary establishment in Gulf Shores. It offers one of the best selections of seafood, but at a premium price and with mediocre service, crowded seating, and a dirty facility. If you want a huge platter with everything the coast offers and don't mind the price, this is for you. If you don't want to spend over 2 hours for one of the most expensive lunches in town, don't go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Southernroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had one of the big feasts and everyone, including our picky kids, LOVED it!! Great place to go as a family! Very pleasant staff too! We will be back next time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nichole5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This little place is one of the best in gulf shores. Food is always wonderful when I visit the area! If you haven't stopped in ... please do!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirstenSiegrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Don't know about these other reviews but our family group of 13 had a great time at this restaurant last night! We arrived about 7:45 PM on a Tuesday night and waited 30 minutes for 2 adjoining tables, which I thought was quiet reasonable! We had 2 dozen oysters on the 1/2 shell, coconut shrimp appetizer, which was good but the dipping sauce was a little sweet, parmesan baked oysters, soft shell crab dinner, oyster and soft shell crab po'boys, beers, amaretto orange blossom drinks and were quite satisfied. The bill for our 6 person family was $190 plus tip which was reasonable for the food. The atmosphere was plain and rustic, the food was DELICIOUS!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Neptune's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to King Neptune's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing