We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and beer”
Review of The Flying Harpoon

The Flying Harpoon
Ranked #35 of 161 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Additional parking at Remax of Gulf Shores. Kitchen open until 1 AM every day.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
2 reviews
“Food and beer”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Bartenders are great and the food is yummy. I like the bbq shrimp and the poboys. I'll be back soon. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    63
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foley, Alabama
1 review
“Great laidback place!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Have been there many times & always enjoyed the food & atmosphere. I don't know what chicfrenchweaver is talking about. The debris po-boy is delicious! We also had chips with it & they were light & tasty. Definitely did not go away hungry! Service was great, the bartender had a place full of people, & everyone was taken care of. As far as the way the building looks, I don't see anything wrong with it. Love the laid back look!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Combination "Cheers", southern hospitality”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Went with a buddy for late lunch. Had the sausage gumbo (outstanding!), friend had the poboy roast beef (excellent) and few beers. Ended up sitting at the bar and visiting bartender, owner (Nancy) and other patrons for a couple of hours. Great food and atmosphere (wives were shopping elsewhere)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Maybe I was at the wrong place!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I don't think so....This could be such a nice little place! It really needs some TLC. The outside of the building and deck are in bad need of repair and paint. I guess I've never heard of a roast beef poboy with gravy but that's what we had.. Left a funny taste in my mouth. The fresh chips were good. Service fair. Again a place with all of the staff sitting around, when they could be sprucing the place up. The napkins in the holder at our table were yellow with age! Sorry, won't be going back! I will admit they have quite the location on the bayou.. But that's it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicfrenchweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Try their specials!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We've made this place a regular lunch place many times, when they weren't overly busy. Yes it is small (cozy), but the food is always really good. Oyster stew, buffalo shrimp, po-boys, it's all good. The owners and staff are always friendly and happy to see people walk in. Their clientele is always interesting, and a large mix of everyone. Don't let the small parking lot fool you, it is truly worth going on, so don't hesitate!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoverA1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Flying Harpoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing