We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good prices, nice folks”

De Soto's Seafood Kitchen
Ranked #11 of 154 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, nice folks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went for a take out salad and the very nice lady said she would even heat up veggies from lunch (since it was dinner time). I kindly declined but she made us a great salad with yummy bread and steamed veggies.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    301
    163
    58
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Large Portions but So Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We pride ourselves on being able to pick restaurants and we ask everyone in town we meet what their favorite restaurants are so on our last night we ate at De Soto's. Our lovely and very attentive waitperson was very helpful with our choices. Two had the Carribean Platter, one Flounder and I had the Pateed Grouper which is pan fried with a drizzle of bernaise sauce. The Carribean dish had a variety of seafood and chicken that was blackened and both of our group who had this raved about the "heat" on their food. My grouper was excellent! Someone recently wrote they were not satisfied with their portion but we all left food on our plates. I would recommend this restaurant! Lots of selections and near the beach. A few things we learned about the area: first no one had dark beer on their menus which is the beer of choice for us and two, if you are looking for fancy, tablecloth/5 star restaurants, you are not on the right vacation. The restaurants are casual, low key and focused on local fare. Fried is the most choice but hey it's vacation!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LSSIWEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food at a decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friends and I ate here on our recent beach trip to gulf shores. For a seafood restaurant in a touristy town, the prices weren't too bad, and the food was really good--homemade rolls were provided , and I really enjoyed my shrimp scampi; my salad was decent. Our waitress was also very nice and did a good job. Would recommend coming here if you're in the area!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AuTiger609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you wants glitz and glamour go somewhere else. BUT if you want GREAT Sea Food go HERE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great service, excellent waitress, excellent home made bread and great sea food! We would and will go back again, many times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cygne, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spring Break Family Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant was very good and had a nice variety on the menu to please everyone in our group. A little pricey but was a great meal with good service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Soto's Seafood Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to De Soto's Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing