We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious shrimp, dreary ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shrimp Basket

Shrimp Basket
Ranked #9 of 154 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We're grillin', steamin', and fryin' in 18 locations!
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“delicious shrimp, dreary ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My bestie and I stopped in for a quick bite to eat. I ordered the fried shrimp basket and she ordered the fried crawfish basket. She lived many years in New Orleans and can't find crawfish just anywhere. The service was very nice. The food was delicious. The building itself is rather nondescript and it is a small, crowded space. I think I would order my shrimp basket TO GO next time! (The sweet tea was wonderful!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainJack58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    400
    175
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Zion
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must stop on your vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good food, small seating area. They do have seating outside with heated lamps, which helps on the chilly days. They seriously have the best potato salad I've ever eaten!! Went back twice because of it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jwallmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleyville, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“There's Not A Better Basket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

You cannot beat the flavor and freshness of a basket of fried shrimp at the Shrimp Basket. My favorite of all their locations is still the one near the main beach road traffic light. It's just what you do when you go to Gulf Shores. You have that basket of wonderfulness and then you can start your vacation!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
259 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We never miss going to one of the Shrimp Baskets when on the Gulf. It is one of the best especially for lunch -- the po'boys are simple but great. The onion rings are some of the best to found. So, a po'boy, onion rings, and a cold beer -- it just doesn't get much better than that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusterYukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good fried or blackened seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a small place in the winter when they can only seat inside but they turn over tables quickly. They have good fried shrimp, oysters, fish and they have it blackened too. The price is very reasonable. They have raw or baked oysters. The po'boy sandwiches are yummy. Limited beer selection.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highplainsprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shrimp Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing